The London American Label Year By Year 1967 Various Artists (London American)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1560

1967 as documented by the releases of the UK’s most famous source for US rock’n’roll, pop, soul and R&B.

After a lengthy hiatus, just when you had all given up hope of ever seeing another volume, Ace’s chronicling of London American resumes this month with an overview of the label’s output from 1967. It wasn’t our intention to make you wait this long, but a variety of complex licensing issues delayed the release to a point where it might have been easier to release a 1968 volume first. However, we got there in the end, and are delighted to continue the series forthwith, and in the correct chronological order.

By the mid-60s London American was no longer the only UK outlet for the release of hot new US singles, and was not dominating this country’s Top 40 as it had at the start of the decade – but the label still commanded maximum respect among UK record buyers, and was still bringing to our side of the Atlantic some of the best and most interesting 45s that were currently happening in the USA.

1967 was a watershed year in popular music and the eclectically enjoyable nature of previous volumes is upheld by the 28 tracks in our latest compilation, which – just like the US Hot 100 of the time – embraces soul, country, folk-rock, psychedelia, adult contemporary and more besides. There may not have been an enormous amount of London hits in 1967 but the quality of the label’s output was as strong as ever. 

Household names – many of them with lengthy London American associations – rub shoulders here with terminally obscure one-record wonders, as they had from the label’s earliest days. All tracks have been mastered from original mono sources, just as they appeared on London, with many coming to you from the original tapes used to manufacture those London 45s.

Copiously annotated and generously illustrated – including a label scan of every featured track – it’s a package that brings many of these tracks to UK CD for the first time, and one that all aficionados of the London American label will be delighted to file next to the previous volumes in this series. It’s a pleasure to maintain the legacy of one of the UK’s foremost imprints for more than a quarter of a century. Hopefully we won’t have to make you wait so long for the 1968 volume, which is already in the works as you read this. 




Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Love Is After Me - Charlie Rich

  • 02 Preview He Ain't Give You None - Freddie Scott

  • 03 Preview My Girl Josephine - Jerry Jaye

  • 04 Preview Cry Softly Lonely One - Roy Orbison

  • 05 Preview Humphrey Stomp - Earl Harrison

  • 06 Preview Four Days Of Rain - The Raggamuffins

  • 07 Preview My Old Flame - Nino Tempo & April Stevens

  • 08 Preview Life Turned Her That Way - Mel Tillis

  • 09 Preview Can You Help Me - The Knickerbockers

  • 10 Preview Eight Men, Four Women - O.V. Wright

  • 11 Preview Never My Love - The Association

  • 12 Preview Bob - The Willis Brothers

  • 13 Preview Huff Puff - Mickey Dolenz

  • 14 Preview Snap Your Fingers - Gail Wynters

  • 15 Preview The Little Black Egg - The Nightcrawlers

  • 16 Preview Billy The Kid - Wilson Pickett & the Falcons

  • 17 Preview Beautiful People - Kenny O'Dell

  • 18 Preview The Ferris Wheel - Sue Thompson

  • 19 Preview I Don't Want to Fall - The Fallen Angels

  • 20 Preview When You're Gone - Brenda & the Tabulations

  • 21 Preview You're The Love - The Sixpence

  • 22 Preview The River Is Wide (UK edit) - The Forum

  • 23 Preview Boogaloo Down Broadway - The Fantastic Johnny C

  • 24 Preview Marryin' Kind Of Love - The Critters

  • 25 Preview I'm Indestructible - Jack Jones

  • 26 Preview Three Hundred And Sixty Five Days - Donald Height

  • 27 Preview Traveling Shoes - Guy Mitchell

  • 28 Preview Big Boss Man - Erma Franklin

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought