The London American Label Year By Year 1960 Various Artists (London American)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1237

EMI didn’t have one until 1962, Philips never had one at all, Pye tried hard, but remained in division two for much of its life and the Rank Organisation had one that rang up such huge losses they pretty much gave theirs away. The label none of those companies could match was housed on the Albert Embankment, the home of the Decca Record Company – the label was London American and it, unlike Top Rank, Pye International and Stateside was the label you turned to most often when looking for the best in American pop, R&B and rock’n’roll.

America was the first country in which a London label appeared. It was the flagship of British Decca’s American operations as far back as 1934. In Britain, the London logo made its debut in 1949 releasing material culled from its American namesake, but also from early US independents like Audivox, Jubilee, Derby, Cadence, Imperial, Essex and Jubilee.

In 1954, a new prefix (HL) and numbering system (8001) was introduced and it’s this series that gave the London American label its legendary status. As rock’n’roll took hold in America new labels sprung up by the bucket load and Decca’s reputation for honest, straight forward dealing meant the new label entrepreneurs could trust Decca to pay its advances and deliver regular royalty statements and payments so the stature of the London American label grew rapidly.

EMI’s Columbia, Parlophone and HMV labels had some US hits, others turned up on smaller British labels like Melodisc, Oriole and Starlite, but the cream was always to be found on the silver and black London label. Here you’d find material from Atlantic, Liberty (whose ability to survive and expand was partly made possible by a financial leap of faith by Sir Edward Lewis, the chairman of Decca who, when asked for a hundred thousand dollars advance for the rights to the Liberty catalogue in the mid-50s offered fifty thousand more, such was his belief in Liberty’s founder Si Waronker), Cadence, Dot, Jamie, Sun, Chess, Specialty, Warwick, Imperial and United Artists, most of which became major players whilst others like Greenwich, Sunbeam, Paris, Dore, Arwin, Judd, JDS and countless others turned out to be little more than ‘here today, gone tomorrow’ operations. Still, their recordings all found a home on London American.

And so now Ace Records begins a year-by-year series celebrating the hits, misses and downright rarities that found a British outlet on the London American label, starting with 1960.

Here you’ll find familiar recordings by Chuck Berry, Johnny Tillotson, Duane Eddy, Eddie Cochran, the Ventures, the Coasters and Johnny Burnette, but look more closely and you’ll find lesser-known records from the Delicates, whose members we now know more about than ever we knew in 1960, Teddy Redell with a track that’ll set you back £50 or £60 pounds now and Sonny Burgess, a wild rock‘n’roller who hadn’t noticed America’s chart was full of boy next door love songs in 1960. Here too, you’ll find Vernon Taylor’s sought-after version of Elvis’s ‘Mystery Train’, and even a good-time country sound from Wynn Stewart which London chose to only manufacture in Britain as an export item.

But don’t let me keep you, grab your copy of The London American Label Year By Year and start re-living the sound of 1960. Then keep your eyes peeled for 1961, 1962, 1963.

By Austin Powell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Let It Rock - Chuck Berry

  • 02 Preview Three Steps To Heaven - Eddie Cochran

  • 03 Preview Wishful Thinking - Wynn Stewart

  • 04 Preview Kommotion - Duane Eddy

  • 05 Preview Blue Angel - Roy Orbison

  • 06 Preview Mystery Train - Vernon Taylor

  • 07 Preview Tiny Tim - LaVern Baker

  • 08 Preview Poetry In Motion - Johnny Tillotson

  • 09 Preview I Love The Way You Love - Marv Johnson

  • 10 Preview Road Runner - Bo Diddley

  • 11 Preview Beatnik Fly - Johnny & The Hurricanes

  • 12 Preview All I Could Do Was Cry - Etta James

  • 13 Preview Too Young To Date - The Delicates

  • 14 Preview Don't Be Cruel - Bill Black's Combo

  • 15 Preview Wake Me, Shake Me - The Coasters

  • 16 Preview Judy - Teddy Redell

  • 17 Preview Save The Last Dance For Me - The Drifters

  • 18 Preview Hey Little One - Dorsey Burnette

  • 19 Preview Lovey - The Clovers

  • 20 Preview Somebody To Love - Bobby Darin

  • 21 Preview I've Been Loved Before - Shirley & Lee

  • 22 Preview Doll House - Donnie Brooks

  • 23 Preview Perfidia - The Ventures

  • 24 Preview Like Strangers - The Everly Brothers

  • 25 Preview My Girl Josephine - Fats Domino

  • 26 Preview The Girl On Death Row - Lee Hazlewood with Duane Eddy & His Orchestra

  • 27 Preview Sadie's Back In Town - Sonny Burgess

  • 28 Preview You're Sixteen - Johnny Burnette

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Collectors' paradise. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought