Hollywood Rock'n'Roll Record Hop Various Artists (Kent/ Modern)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1142

This product is also available in these versions:
Hollywood Rock'n'Roll Record Hop (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

There are precedents. The Dave Clark Five had hits with two completely different songs called Everybody Knows. Francoise Hardy issued, in three successive years, three LPs entitled simply “Francoise Hardy”. Those of you who have followed the rise and rise of Ace Records for as long as this writer will fondly remember when the label, then still called Chiswick, issued their very first LP, catalogue number CH 1 (which is why, younger readers, Ace issue numbers still bear a CH prefix), entitled “Hollywood Rock’n’Roll”. As it emerged blinking from behind the counter of Rock On in Camden Town, Ted Carroll’s pride in it was plain for all to see. I think he covered most of the shop’s front window with copies of the LP’s sleeve.

Now, over a thousand releases later, here’s a new Ace album with the same title – well almost, what’s a “Record Hop” between friends? But whereas that debut LP contained white rock’n’roll by artists such as Glen Glenn and Alis Lesley, very much of its era, this one is something else: a hot brew of (mainly) rocking rhythm & blues, and far better than its original teenage buyers had a right to expect for its measly 98 cents price tag. It was the follow-up to “Rock’n’Roll Dance Party”, issued on the Bihari brothers’ Crown label and, like that one, it came out twice with slightly different tracks.

Knowing Ace as you do, and knowing compiler Tony Rounce’s affection for BOGOFs, you won’t be surprised that the CD includes all the tracks from both versions of the LP, plus nine more which have never been on any Ace CD before. Indeed, four tracks have escaped from the vaults for the first time ever. The Teen Queens’ classic Rock Everybody will rock everybody more than before, as it’s taken at a more sizzling tempo than the issued master, and Maxwell Davis’ instrumental cut Everybody Rockin’ sizzles right along behind it. Mercy Dee’s Rompin’ And Stompin’ is an unissued take which, because it lacks the sax break of the single master, showcases his piano playing in the middle section, and swings like a rusty axe too. Finally, Jesse Belvin’s Goodnight My Love, a classic “ender”, is heard here in a recently-discovered merger of bits from two different takes. You can’t hear the join.

As for the tracks which were on those original LPs, most are well-known, and deservedly so. From the opening Stranded In The Jungle onwards, there are some of the steamiest rockers ever recorded: just try keeping still to the Queens’ Oop Shoop, Young Jessie’s Mary Lou or Etta James’ Good Rocking Daddy (again, slightly different from the 45rpm version). On second thoughts, don’t even try. Ballad lovers are well served by numbers like the Cliques’ Girl In My Dreams (a perennial Jamaican favourite and bootlegged, whoops, on catalogue over there for many years) and Dolly Cooper’s naively charming off-target shot at stardom Teenage Prayer. The most poignant track, in view of recent reports of his live shows, is Joe Houston’s display of tenor saxophone mastery Blow Joe Blow.

The 26 tracks offer plenty to jive, stroll, smooch or even just listen to. Add the crystal-clear mastering by Nick Robbins, the typically authoritative liner notes by Tony Rounce, and the quality packaging, and you’ll see that the pride inherent in that first HOLLYWOOD ROCK’N’ROLL RECORD HOP is still intact 29 years later.

By Mike Atherton


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Stranded In The Jungle - The Cadets

  • 02 Preview Oop Shoop - Shirley Gunter & the Queens

  • 03 Preview Why Don't You Write Me? - The Jacks

  • 04 Preview Rollin' Stone - The Cadets

  • 05 Preview Blow Joe Blow - Joe Houston

  • 06 Preview Teenage Prayer - Dolly Cooper

  • 07 Preview Good Rockin' Daddy (Alt mix) - Etta James

  • 08 Preview Tick Tock - Marvin & Johnny

  • 09 Preview The Girl In My Dreams - The Cliques

  • 10 Preview I Want You - The Cadets

  • 11 Preview Mary Lou - Young Jessie & The Cadets

  • 12 Preview Kansas City Blues - Joe Turner & Pete Johnson

  • 13 Preview Crazy Feeling aka Do Something Crazy - Etta James

  • 14 Preview True Love - The Cadets

  • 15 Preview Hot Little Mama - Johnny "Guitar" Watson

  • 16 Preview Jump With You Baby - B.B. King

  • 17 Preview Rock Bottom - The Rams

  • 18 Preview My Babe - The Ewing Sisters

  • 19 Preview Bim Bam - B.B. King

  • 20 Preview Oh, My Dear - Zola Taylor

  • 21 Preview Rock Everybody - The Teen Queens

  • 22 Preview Old Man River - Hadda Brooks

  • 23 Preview Romp And Stomp Blues - Mercy Dee

  • 24 Preview Dog Gone It - Donna Hightower with Maxwell Davis & Orchestra

  • 25 Preview Everybody's Rockin' (Rag Mop) - Maxwell Davis & his Mod Cats

  • 26 Preview Goodnight My Love, Pleasant Dreams - Jesse Belvin

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought