The London American Label Year By Year 1961 Various Artists (London American)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1249

To no one’s surprise, the “London American Year By Year” series has proven to be an instant success for Ace. The combination of nostalgia for both the era that the series will cover and for the label itself, not to mention the prospect of owning hundreds more vintage gems on Ace CD for the first time, has ensured that – as the late Fergus Cashin of the Daily Sketch might have put it - “this one will run and run”.

Indeed, such is the demand for future volumes that we’ve already stepped up the scheduling of LAYBY from two to three times a year. (Well, your compilers will both be well into their seventies by the time of the intended final volume, and like you we’d prefer to live to see the series through to its grand finale – thus it seemed a sensible thing to do…). Fans can expect this January release of this 1961 volume to be followed by 1962 in October, with our first backtrack to 1959 as the tasty filler for this musical sandwich in June. We’d like to step that schedule up even more if we could – but as you can imagine, each volume is a mammoth undertaking for Ace’s licensing department, not to mention the amount of work that goes into sourcing the original London tapes and the matching the audio to the sound of the original 45s by the guys at Sound Mastering. These things just do not happen overnight, and we do need to put some other CDs out in between and around these releases to stay in business, y’know…

All this notwithstanding, we kick off the ‘tennies’ with LAYBY 1961, which we feel more than upholds the standard set by its acclaimed predecessor. One of the main promises we made to the collector was that each volume would feature at least 20 tracks that were new to Ace CD. On this occasion, only one of the featured tracks has ever been heard on Ace before (Timi Yuro’s ‘Hurt’). This is quite astounding when one considers that debutantes here include Eddie Cochran’s ‘Weekend’, Del Shannon’s ‘So Long Baby’ and Jerry Lee Lewis’ ‘What’d I Say’, to name but three. It really does demonstrate how much rock ‘n’ roll gold there still is in ‘them thar hills’ to mine, doesn’t it?

As ever, there’s extensive track-by-track commentary, with a shot of every featured London 45 to complement the annotation. An intro by long-time London collector Roger Cope perfectly sums up the feelings of everyone who ever put their pocket money or part of a meagre pay packet towards the purchase of one or more of these goodies, your compilers included. And the best news of all is that all of the songs run for less than two and a half minutes, so if there’s something here you don’t like (and we truthfully don’t expect everyone to enjoy everything that’s on offer across the series) you’re seldom more than 150 seconds away from something that you will!”

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview What'd I Say - Jerry Lee Lewis

  • 02 Preview Spanish Harlem - Ben E King

  • 03 Preview Riders In The Sky - The Ramrods

  • 04 Preview Lovey Dovey - Buddy Knox

  • 05 Preview Just Out Of Reach (Of My Two Open Arms) - Solomon Burke

  • 06 Preview Wait A Minute - The Coasters

  • 07 Preview The Magnificent Seven - Al Caiola & His Orchestra

  • 08 Preview More Than I Can Say - Bobby Vee

  • 09 Preview You Must Have Been A Beautiful Baby - Bobby Darin

  • 10 Preview So Long, Baby - Del Shannon

  • 11 Preview Hurt - Timi Yuro

  • 12 Preview Ring Of Fire - Duane Eddy

  • 13 Preview Moody River - Pat Boone

  • 14 Preview Weekend - Eddie Cochran

  • 15 Preview Naomi - Al Tousan & His Piano

  • 16 Preview Spanish Twist - Bill Haley & His Comets

  • 17 Preview Ram-Bunk-Shush - The Ventures

  • 18 Preview Girls - Johnny Burnette with The Johnny Mann Singers

  • 19 Preview Ain't Gonna Wash For A Week - Eddie Hodges

  • 20 Preview Crying - Roy Orbison

  • 21 Preview Twist-Her - Bill Black's Combo

  • 22 Preview Sweets For My Sweet - The Drifters

  • 23 Preview Lonesome Road - Mirriam Johnson

  • 24 Preview The Peppermint Twist - Danny Peppermint & The Jumpin' Jacks

  • 25 Preview Get With It - Sandy Nelson

  • 26 Preview Boo Hoo - Marvin Rainwater

  • 27 Preview What A Party - Fats Domino

  • 28 Preview Morning After - The Mar-Keys

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A solid step along a set of London American compilations that will prove essential to many.

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought