The London American Label Year By Year 1957 Various Artists (London American)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1318

Our London American series continues to win praise from all corners, particularly from UK residents whose record collecting habits sprang from the purchase of one or more of the London label’s many fantastic 78s or tri-centre 45s.

We’ve reached 1957 later than planned due to having to replace a track at the very last minute, but we expect to deliver three volumes in 2012 – those who are collecting the series will be glad to know that 1956 and 1964 are well under way.

1957 was a truly vintage year for youth-aimed American music, and its best overall representation in the UK came via London. A great number of the 178 singles the label issued that year are already available somewhere in the Ace catalogue, but the overview presented here is highly formidable and really does show all facets of their release schedule. Only a couple of the 28 tracks here are currently available on other Ace CDs, and I make no apology for including one of them: my all-time favourite record, Little Richard’s ‘Keep A Knockin’’ (a compiler’s perk that surely nobody will deny me).

As ever, we have been lucky enough to have many of the original London production masters at our disposal, and more than 70% of the music you’ll hear here comes from those very same tapes.

The music speaks for itself. What’s not to love about a CD that brings you tried and trusted classics such as ‘Blue Monday’, ‘Great Balls Of Fire’, ‘Your True Love’, ‘I Walk The Line’ and – in its UK single version, of course – ‘Twenty Flight Rock’, alongside seldom reissued hits such as ‘White Silver Sands’, curios of the calibre of the UK-only overdubbed version of ‘A Rose And A Baby Ruth’ and the usual selection of “What made them issue that? But let’s be glad they did”s, a category that would have to include Merle Kilgore’s ‘Ernie’, Dean Beard’s ‘Rakin’ And Scrapin’’ and Ernie Chaffin’s ‘Feelin’ Low’. Along the way you’ll also find sisters Patience & Prudence stating the obvious in ‘We Can’t Sing Rhythm & Blues’, the deranged Nervous Norvus instructing the world how to do ‘The Bullfrog Hop’ and all manner of other musical delights, lovingly sequenced in much the same way they might have appeared in the London American catalogue.

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Blue Monday (from the film The Girl Can't Help It) - Fats Domino

  • 02 Preview You Can't Catch Me (from the film Rock, Rock, Rock!) - Chuck Berry

  • 03 Preview I Walk The Line - Johnny Cash

  • 04 Preview Keep A Knockin' - Little Richard

  • 05 Preview Why Baby Why - Pat Boone

  • 06 Preview Twenty Flight Rock - Eddie Cochran

  • 07 Preview Wandering Eyes - Charlie Gracie

  • 08 Preview A Rose And A Candy Bar - George Hamilton IV

  • 09 Preview I Like Your Kind Of Love - Andy Williams

  • 10 Preview My Idea Of Love (from the film The Girl Can't Help It) - Johnny Olenn and his Band

  • 11 Preview Rock The Joint - Bill Haley and his Comets

  • 12 Preview Step It Up And Go - Mac Wiseman

  • 13 Preview White Silver Sands - Don Rondo

  • 14 Preview Ernie - Merle Kilgore

  • 15 Preview Party Doll - Roy Brown

  • 16 Preview Your True Love - Carl Perkins

  • 17 Preview Ninety Nine Ways - Tab Hunter

  • 18 Preview Rock And Cry (from the film Mister Rock And Roll) - Clyde McPhatter

  • 19 Preview I Knew From The Start (from the film Rock, Rock, Rock!) - The Moonglows

  • 20 Preview We Can't Sing Rhythm & Blues - Patience & Prudence

  • 21 Preview Rakin' And Scrapin' - Dean Beard with the Crew Cats

  • 22 Preview That Train Has Gone - Chuck Willis

  • 23 Preview Lipstick, Powder And Paint - Joe Turner

  • 24 Preview The Bullfrog Hop - Nervous Norvus

  • 25 Preview One More Time - Ruth Brown

  • 26 Preview Feelin' Low - Ernie Chaffin

  • 27 Preview Tempo's Tempo (from the film The Girl Can't Help It) - Nino Tempo and his Band

  • 28 Preview Great Balls Of Fire (from the film Disc Jockey Jamboree) - Jerry Lee Lewis

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes




Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought