The Golden Age Of American Rock 'n' Roll V5 Various Artists (Golden Age Of American Rock and Roll)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

'The Golden Age Of Rock 'N' Roll' series not only charts the exciting pop (and related) sounds of the 1950s and 1960s, it also showcases them in eye-catching packaging accompanied by detailed sleevenotes. The music is taken from the best available sound source, which involves extensive tape research. Volume 5 is no exception, offering another 30 great slices of classic rock 'n' roll era sounds and Hot 100 hits, covering the years 1954-1963. The 20 page CD booklet comes complete with extensiive details on each artist and many period pictures and ads.No 1 US charting singles Duke Of Earl by Gene Chandler, Sleep Walk by Santo & Johnny and I'm Leaving It Up To You by Dale & Grace are here. So, too, are such UK Top Ten charting classics as Thurston Harris & The Sharp's Little Bitty Pretty One, Freddy Cannon's Tallahassee Lassie, Jimmy McCracklin's The Walk and Jay & The Americans' She Cried. Rocking strongly next to them are tracks like Eddie Fontaine's Nothin' Shakin' and Rosco Gordon's Just A Little Bit, both of which never charted higher than No 64 but went on to become all-time classics of their respective rockabilly and R&B musical genres.Trivia ...

Jimmy McCracklin recorded The Walk for just six dollars! He took the tape to every record company in Chicago without success and to Chess Records (who eventually released it) three times. Released on Chess subsidiary Checker, The Walk went to No 7 on the American Hot 100 chart and became one of the most memorable of Chess R&B hits.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Wiggle Wiggle - The Accents

  • 02 Preview Love Potion No 9 - The Clovers

  • 03 Preview I'm Leaving It Up To You - Dale And Grace

  • 04 Preview You Cheated - The Shields

  • 05 Preview It Will Stand - The Showmen

  • 06 Preview Sleep Walk - Santo And Johnny

  • 07 Preview Nothin' Shakin' (But The Leaves On The Tree) - Eddie Fontaine

  • 08 Preview Happy, Happy Birthday Baby - The Tune Weavers

  • 09 Preview Heart And Soul - Jan & Dean

  • 10 Preview What's Your Name? - Don & Juan

  • 11 Preview Little Bitty Pretty One - Thurston Harris And The Sharps

  • 12 Preview Darling Lorraine - The Knockouts

  • 13 Preview Tallahassee Lassie - Freddy Cannon

  • 14 Preview Tell Me Why - The Belmonts

  • 15 Preview Over The Mountain, Across The Sea - Johnnie & Joe

  • 16 Preview Ka-Ding Dong - The G-Clefs

  • 17 Preview Underwater - The Frogmen

  • 18 Preview She Cried - Jay And The Americans

  • 19 Preview Just A Little Bit - Rosco Gordon

  • 20 Preview Sometime - Gene Thomas

  • 21 Preview Ain't Gonna Kiss Ya - The Ribbons

  • 22 Preview Midnight Stroll - The Revels

  • 23 Preview The Walk - Jimmy McCracklin

  • 24 Preview Hey Little Girl - Dee Clark

  • 25 Preview This Is The Nite - The Valiants

  • 26 Preview Tell Him No - Travis And Bob

  • 27 Preview Bad Boy - The Jive Bombers

  • 28 Preview Stranded In The Jungle - The Jayhawks

  • 29 Preview Duke Of Earl - Gene Chandler

  • 30 Preview Goodnight, Sweetheart, Goodnight - The Spaniels

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought