Rockin' From Coast To Coast Vol 3 Various Artists (Rockin From Coast to Coast)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

It's racket time again, kiddies. Here's the third volume of rare and classy (ahem) rock'n'roll spanning a wide range of styles with the emphasis on WILD.

Of the 26 selections, more than half are new to CD including the recently discovered Texan rockabilly gem Too Much Loving Going On, Danny Dell's deranged Froggy Went A-Courting, Flash Terry's frantic Cool It, Bobby Verne's rare Red Hot Car (off tape for the first time), Elroy Dietzel's Rock-N-Bones (again, off tape for the first time), not to mention Mary Petti's quite uncanny Brenda Lee imitation, Hey, Lawdy Lawdy. Then there's Jamie Coe's Summertime Symphony, written and produced by Bobby Darin back in 1959. That one came out in the UK on the old red Parlophone label and is presented here in super-fi sound. British fans of 50s rock have always held an affection for Big Bob's Your Line Was Busy, a New York recording which slipped out virtually unnoticed in Britain on the ill-fated Top Rank label in the late 50s. That's here too. But even that bows in deference to Kid Thomas' demented Rockin' This Joint To-Nite, a disc so wild that tone arms on record decks were known to perspire after each play.

In 1958, the American R&B vocalist Bertice Reading came over to the UK and belted out the powerful Rock Baby, Rock It at Abbey Road, battering the tweedy British studio musicians into submission with the power of her voice. This rare example of an American artist showing the British how to rock on their own turf was released exclusively in the UK on Parlophone. It is the only non-US recording heard here.

There's more: Shirley Cadell's The Big Bounce was a huge record on the rockabilly scene of the early 1980s and this is the first time it has appeared legitimately on CD. Wild Child Gipson's Uncle John and Strollie Bun by the Blonde Bomber owe more than a nod in Little Richard's direction. These are not the names their mothers knew them by.

Of major interest is the original version of the Fendermen's Muleskinner Blues which came out on the tiny Cuca label of Wisconsin. The Fendermen had a major hit with this song in 1960 but not in this form - the hit version was a subsequent re-record for another label. Here's the original earlier cut which few outside rural Wisconsin ever got to hear. It has a fuller sound and a slightly rougher edge.

In common with the previous editions, Volume 3 of "Rockin' From Coast To Coast" comes with a fully illustrated, action packed booklet with annotation by Rob Finnis. They're wild, they're woolly and they're willing - these 26 rockers will leave you breathless.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Froggy Went A Courting - Danny Dell & the Trends

  • 02 Preview Strollie Bun - The Blonde Bomber

  • 03 Preview Cool It - Flash Terry

  • 04 Preview Rock-n-Bones - Elroy Dietzel & The Rhythm Bandits

  • 05 Preview Summertime Symphony - Jamie Coe

  • 06 Preview The Big Bounce - Shirley Cadell

  • 07 Preview No Good Lover - Mickey & Sylvia

  • 08 Preview I'm Gonna Tell - George Fleming

  • 09 Preview Sunglasses After Dark - Dwight Pullen

  • 10 Preview Too Much Lovin' (Going On) - Derrell Felts

  • 11 Preview Hey Doll Baby - Pat Kelly with the Shamrocks

  • 12 Preview Big Fat Sally - Ronnie & Roy

  • 13 Preview Rock Baby, Rock - Bertice Reading

  • 14 Preview Believe It Or Not - Don Covay

  • 15 Preview Rockin' This Joint To-Nite - Kid Thomas

  • 16 Preview Uncle John - Wild Child Gipson with Freddie Tieken & the Rockers

  • 17 Preview Shake Baby Shake - Johnny O'Keefe & the Deejays

  • 18 Preview Shook Shake (Like A Big Mix Cake) - Ken Davis

  • 19 Preview I'm Ready - Hank Mizell

  • 20 Preview Your Line Was Busy - Big Bob

  • 21 Preview My Baby Loves To Rock - Del Reeves

  • 22 Preview Hey, Lawdy Lawdy - Mary Petti

  • 23 Preview Everywhere I Go - Ted Taylor

  • 24 Preview Rockin' Blues - The Del-Tones

  • 25 Preview Red Hot Car - Bobby Verne

  • 26 Preview Mule Skinner Blues - The Fendermen

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Another essential item. I'm already booking my seat for Volume 4.

Now Dig This

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought