Bob Holmes' Nashville Soul Various Artists (States & Regions)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

In the 60s and 70s, Nashville was a hothouse of R&B, soul and jazz. Bob Holmes was a central character.

With the publication of E Mark Windle’s book House Of Broken Hearts, the city of Nashville’s black music scene is being studied in detail for the first time since Kent issued the CDs “Uptown Down South” and “Music City Soul” in the late 90s. To coordinate with the book we are releasing another compilation of Nashville soul, this time concentrating on the work of multi-talented songwriter, producer and arranger Bob Holmes. Those earlier CDs featured Excello/A-Bet and Poncello/Ref-O-Ree recordings respectively. This new collection also draws from those sources, plus Bob Holmes’ personal tapes and other third-party licenses. The time span is 1965 to 1980.

The Hytones are the most-featured act, albeit in various guises. The superb mid-tempo ‘Runaway Girl’ was previously available only on a 100 Club promo 45, and their rare deep soul A-Bet release ‘I’ve Got My Baby’ gets its first release on CD. The guys also team up with the Avons for the previously unheard ‘Oo Gilly Baby’, dedicated to local DJ Clarence Kilcrease aka “Gilly Baby”. Hytones members Freddie Waters and Eddie Frierson sing solo on captivating Holmes songs and appear as a duo on ‘Steady’, an atmospheric late 70s groove. The Avons’ own scarce A-Bet 45 ‘Got To Get Used To You’ also makes its CD debut.

Sandra King’s ‘Leave It Up To The Boys’ is an expensive record to find and shows how Holmes was stylistically influenced more by New York and Detroit than Memphis. Freddie North’s beautiful big beat ballad ‘Don’t Make Me Look So Bad’ and the Paramount Four’s stunning ‘You Must Leave Her Because You Love Her’ are similarly polished. Holmes worked extensively with R&B producer Ted Jarrett on superb late 60s recordings by great Nashville singers such as Gene Allison, Roscoe Shelton and Peggy Gaines, and even wrote and produced ‘Tip On In’, a hit for blues veteran Slim Harpo.

By the 1970s his expertise was being appreciated by other companies. He arranged Joe Tex’s hit dance track ‘Under Your Powerful Love’ for Dial and Bill Brandon’s modern soul classic ‘The Streets Got My Lady’ for Piedmont. He could also deliver authentic southern soul, as heard on Jimmy Church’s ‘Right In The Palm Of Your Hand’ and a beautiful, although unfinished, version of Clyde McPhatter’s ‘Crying Won’t Help You Now’ by Johnny Truitt. The Golden Bond’s superb harmony single ‘I Know (It’s All Over)’ is featured in its previously unheard full 4-minutes-plus version, while Roger Hatcher’s Volt 45 ‘I Dedicate My Life To You’ demonstrates great musical sensitivity and Ruthie’s smooth ‘Let’s Try Love Again’ from 1980 is evidence that Holmes could move with the times.

A man of many talents, Holmes studied and lectured at several colleges in Nashville. His musicality is apparent on studio group Little Rock Brotherhood’s instrumental ‘Girl Watching On Broadway’. He wrote for and performed in jazz groups throughout his life, adapted to disco and even electro funk in the late 70s, and went on to write film music and classical works. He also pioneered music production on television with the local Night Train show which ran from1964 to 1967 and featured many of his associated acts.

Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Runaway Girl - The Hytones

  • 02 Preview Leave It Up To The Boys - Sandra King

  • 03 Preview Got To Get Used To You - The Avons

  • 04 Preview Sweet Way Of Living - Peggy Gaines

  • 05 Preview I Dedicate My Life To You - Roger Hatcher

  • 06 Preview You Must Leave Her Because You Love Her - The Paramount Four

  • 07 Preview Don't Make Me Look So Bad - Freddie North

  • 08 Preview You Never Had It So Good - Eddie Frierson

  • 09 Preview Girl Watching On Broadway - Little Rock Brotherhood

  • 10 Preview The Streets Got My Lady - Bill Brandon

  • 11 Preview Under Your Powerful Love - Joe Tex

  • 12 Preview Somebody Somewhere - Gene Allison

  • 13 Preview Grooviest Thing This Side Of Heaven - Wendell Watts

  • 14 Preview Tip On In Pt 1 - Slim Harpo

  • 15 Preview I Can't Love Nobody But You - Roscoe Shelton

  • 16 Preview Don't Let It Get You Down, Boy - Freddie Waters

  • 17 Preview Say Boy - The Tydes

  • 18 Preview Oo Gilly Baby - The Avons & The Hytones

  • 19 Preview I've Got My Baby - The Hytones

  • 20 Preview Crying Won't Help You Now - Johnny Truitt

  • 21 Preview Right In The Palm Of Your Hand - Jimmy Church

  • 22 Preview I Know (It's All Over) - The Golden Bond

  • 23 Preview Steady - Eddie & Freddie

  • 24 Preview Let's Try Love Again - Ruthie

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought