Stone Soul: San Francisco's Loadstone Various Artists (Kent)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

In 1971 the only two known soul fanatics in the University of London were myself and Rawtenstall (deepest Lancashire)-born Steve Cowell. We met after I heard The Fascinations' Girls Are Out To Get You playing in his room, an occurrence exceptional enough to make me knock on the door and introduce myself.

Though possessing a great soul collection, he was relatively untravelled outside the Rossendale Valley and had not come across many exotic names (give or take one or two Sidebottom's or the odd Oswaldtwistle). There was one record in his collection that cracked him up at the mere thought of it, and that was down to the singer's name being Spencer Wiggins who, though well-respected as an artist appealed to Steve's chuckle muscles as the oddest name he'd ever come across.

Being similarly young and stupid and not wishing to be outdone, the same helpless mirth affected me at the sight of Charles Leonard's Jay Boy single A Funky Driver On A Funky Bus Part 1. This time it was the title that did the trick. I had a distinct suspicion that Charles had over-egged the 'Funky' pudding. Luckily this foible only affected me and the single had healthy sales in the South's funk clubs.

I later learnt that Charles Leonard's original US label was called Loadstone and over the ensuing collecting years I always took time out to listen to the label's releases and picked them up if they suited my taste and pocket.

I picked up a couple of nice girl group soul singles from the Chandeliers that, although dated, captivated me with their charm. I got a nice disco soul item from a grandly named character called Herman H Harper II and then heard tell of a super rare LP by the California Playboys that had a couple of killer dance tracks that were getting spun on the 70s Northern Soul scene. Next came a couple of beautiful ballads from Jacqueline Jones, an early groove from Sly & The Family Stone, and an old fashioned 60s stomper from Eugene Jefferson, imaginatively titled A Pretty Girl Dressed In Brown. There were a couple of rejections: an early 60s white wimp ballad from Guy Apollo and a manic piece of 70s black consciousness preaching from the Rev L Overstreet.

As my job with Kent progressed to hunting down label owners to acquire US rights, I always kept an eye out for the ubiquitous WC Stone, whom I correctly assumed to be the label owner. When I finally tracked him to his San Franciscan home it was pure serendipity that had me in the same room as the Funky Driver On A Funky Bus (Part 1).

His own story of his involvement in the record business was fascinating-.-starting out with a slight curiosity in music he had ended up an experienced, talented producer with 20 years worth of black music catalogue. He also had most of the original tapes of his recordings and a great selection of colour and black and white photos of the artists.

He told me of the deal with the great soul duo Eddie and Ernie, problems with Detroit soul star Lee Rogers and his pride in his first artists, the jazz-based group the Cals. The whole project proved to be very worthwhile and enlightening-.-all because of a fit of student giggles!

By Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview A Frown On My Face - Jacqueline Jones

  • 02 Preview You Touched The Inner Part Of Me - Celeste Hardie

  • 03 Preview Just Say A Four Letter Word (Love) - The California Playboys

  • 04 Preview Headed For The Streets - Herman H Harper II

  • 05 Preview A Pretty Girl Dressed In Brown - Eugene Jefferson

  • 06 Preview Fading Day - The Chandeliers

  • 07 Preview It's A Beautiful World - Eddie & Ernie

  • 08 Preview One Monkey Can't Stop The Show - Paula Lamont

  • 09 Preview Too Much Trouble - Curtis Lawson and the Unforgettables

  • 10 Preview Love Bandit - Lee Rogers

  • 11 Preview A Funky Driver On A Funky Bus (Part I) - Charles Leonard

  • 12 Preview Rudy Blue - Jean Knight

  • 13 Preview Thank You Love - Celeste Hardie

  • 14 Preview She's A Real Sweet Woman (Edited version) - The California Playboys

  • 15 Preview Indication - Eddie & Ernie

  • 16 Preview It's A Good Thought - The Chandeliers

  • 17 Preview Swimming Partners - Paula Lamont

  • 18 Preview Get To Stepping - The Cals

  • 19 Preview Double Love - The Chandeliers

  • 20 Preview Stop Dragging My Heart Around - The Chandeliers

  • 21 Preview You Make My Life A Sunny Day - Jacqueline Jones

  • 22 Preview Fading Day - Peter Johnson

  • 23 Preview Inseparable - Herman H Harper II

  • 24 Preview My Sweet Lover - Jacqueline Jones

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought