The Other Side Of The Trax Various Artists (Stax)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
The Other Side Of The Trax (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

Ace has long been associated with the Stax catalogue and we are continually looking for new ways to keep the connection going via packages of exciting vault discoveries. Many of our recent Stax compilations have concentrated on the company’s later era – the yellow period, as it’s known in collector circles – but we’re starting our 2016 schedule with a project that draws on releases from their earlier blue period.

“The Other Side Of The Trax” brings you two-dozen Stax and Volt B-sides that have thus far managed to avoid release on CD. Given how well-known some of the artists are, that might seem unlikely, but this is indeed the official CD debut of all 24 tracks. And what great tracks they are. It must have been really difficult for the company’s A&R team to consign them to B-sides when they are clearly of A-side quality. In the time that has passed since they were issued on 45s, many have achieved greater popularity among collectors than their A-sides.

With the exception of Otis Redding, Sam & Dave and Booker T & the MGs – whose entire Stax/Volt catalogues are available elsewhere on CD – you will hear from every major act to have recorded for the company between January 1964 and March 1968. All tracks are taken from the original singles masters, with the exception of Johnnie Taylor’s northern soul classic ‘Changes’, which appears in a new stereo mix. The rest are the way they were meant to be heard – in pristine Memphis mono.

Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Changes - Johnnie Taylor

  • 02 Preview Separation - Carla Thomas

  • 03 Preview This Kind Of Woman - Ivory Joe Hunter

  • 04 Preview Sho' Gonna Mess Him Up - Rufus Thomas

  • 05 Preview You Belong To Her - Barbara & The Browns

  • 06 Preview Don't Stop Now - William Bell

  • 07 Preview Beach Bash - The Mar-Keys

  • 08 Preview My Pride Won't Let Me - Eddie Purrell

  • 09 Preview I Need Somebody - Johnny Daye

  • 10 Preview Uh-Oh (I'm In Love Again) - Eddie Jefferson

  • 11 Preview Watchdog - Dorothy Williams

  • 12 Preview You'll Never Know How Much I Love You - Oscar Mack

  • 13 Preview Please Be Honest With Me - Barbara & The Browns

  • 14 Preview Ain't Got No Girl - William Bell

  • 15 Preview A Boy Named Tom - Carla Thomas

  • 16 Preview Sweet Thing - Gorgeous George

  • 17 Preview Hey Now - Eddie Floyd

  • 18 Preview The Big Dipper - Sir Isaac & The Do-Dads

  • 19 Preview We're Tight - Rufus & Carla Thomas

  • 20 Preview I Gotta Have My Baby's Love - Sir Mack Rice

  • 21 Preview Under My Nose - Eddie Floyd

  • 22 Preview Bashful Guitar - Johnny Jenkins

  • 23 Preview Here Am I - Linda Lyndell

  • 24 Preview Strange Things (Happenin' In My Heart) - Johnnie Taylor

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes





Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought