Respect: Aretha's Influences And Inspiration Various Artists (Themes)


60s Soul
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1214

Considering she is still such an influence on so many others artists, Aretha Franklin’s own inspirations might have been a little overlooked. This Ace CD addresses that situation perfectly. The 24 R&B, soul and gospel recordings here, many of them performed by Aretha's favourite artists, helped influence and inspire her to become the great artist she is.

Aretha recorded a tremendous number of covers over the years. Her choices of the best songs to record in her own way were impeccable. ‘Respect’ is totally different to Otis Redding’s storming original and it established her as the female soul singer to beat for years to come. Likewise Don Covay’s See Saw’, which in her hands proved to be a bigger R&B hit than its writers’ own version.

An important influence on Aretha was Little Miss Cornshucks. Obscure to the general public, Ahmet Ertegun named her as his favourite blues singer of all time. Here is her recording of ‘Try A Little Tenderness’ from 1952, generally regarded as the first R&B version of this classic song. Aretha recorded the number for Columbia in 1962.

Aretha first heard Ray Charles’ version of ‘Drown In My Own Tears’ (originally cut by Lula Reed) on the radio one night after she had gone to bed. She said she heard his voice coming out of the dark and that she had never heard anything like that before. I’ve a soft spot for the version by the underestimated Jean Wells. Coincidentally Wells is featured here singing Clyde Otis’ ‘Sit Down And Cry’, later recorded by Aretha for her “This Girl’s In Love With You” album. From the same Calla label as Jean’s record comes ‘Prove It’ by the under-recorded Mary Wheeler from 1966, which Aretha cut a year after for the “Aretha Arrives” LP.

One of Aretha’s greatest influences was the gospel legend Clara Ward, featured here with ‘The Day Is Passed And Gone’, a song that was among the very first she covered, and sung by her at Clara’s funeral in 1973.

As often with Ace compilations an alternate, extended or album cut is used, not just securing sales to completists (join the club!), but giving an interesting slant on well-known or well-loved recordings. This collection is no exception, offering, for example, the stereo LP versions of Otis’s ‘Respect’ and Ben E King’s ‘Don’t Play That Song (You Lied)’, which features the verses in a different order to the single.

Other big names include Wilson Pickett with the tremendous ‘I’m In Love’ (Aretha considers Pickett to be one of the great soul singers, and vice versa, if you remember his comments about a party at her house in Only The Strong Survive), Bobby Womack, Howard Tate, Bobby Bland and Dinah Washington. The woman recently named the Greatest Singer of All Time by Rolling Stone magazine certainly has the best of taste.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Respect - Otis Redding

  • 02 Preview The House That Jack Built - Thelma Jones

  • 03 Preview See Saw - Don Covay & the Goodtimers

  • 04 Preview Sit Down And Cry - Jean Wells

  • 05 Preview Don't Play That Song (You Lied) - Ben E King

  • 06 Preview Every Little Bit Hurts - Brenda Holloway

  • 07 Preview Soulville - Dinah Washington

  • 08 Preview Pitiful - Big Maybelle

  • 09 Preview Share Your Love With Me - Bobby Bland

  • 10 Preview Today I Sing The Blues - Helen Humes with Buck Clayton's Orchestra

  • 11 Preview My Song - Johnny Ace with The Beale Streeters

  • 12 Preview Try A Little Tenderness - Little Miss Cornshucks

  • 13 Preview I'm Wanderin' - Jackie Wilson

  • 14 Preview The River's Invitation - Percy Mayfield

  • 15 Preview Drown In My Own Tears - Ray Charles

  • 16 Preview The Dark End Of The Street - James Carr

  • 17 Preview Prove It - Mary Wheeler

  • 18 Preview I'm In Love - Wilson Pickett

  • 19 Preview Eight Days On The Road - Howard Tate

  • 20 Preview To Be Young, Gifted And Black - Nina Simone

  • 21 Preview Let Me In Your Life - Bill Withers

  • 22 Preview That's The Way I Feel About 'Cha - Bobby Womack

  • 23 Preview I Say A Little Prayer - Dionne Warwick

  • 24 Preview The Day Is Passed And Gone - Clara Ward

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


An insight into soul royalty, and an excellent compilation. ★★★★


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought