Wild Thing - The Songs Of Chip Taylor Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1229

Chip Taylor is the subject of the latest addition to our songwriter-based series. He can boast two career songs – ‘Wild Thing’ and ‘Angel Of The Morning’ – both of which have been recorded countless times and are considered to be among the greatest of their decade. Chip’s collaborations with Ted Daryll, Al Gorgoni, Jerry Ragovoy, Wes Farrell and Billy Vera are no less revered. When Aretha Franklin, Dusty Springfield and Peggy Lee record your songs, you know you’re doing something right.

The Troggs open our show with ‘Wild Thing’. The song is indelibly associated with Reg Presley and his cohorts, but Chip was commissioned to write it for the Wild Ones. He doesn’t care for the original, “They took the power of the song and diminished it,” but loves the Troggs’ recording, “A right funky record. You couldn’t beat that. It was like my demo, except they played it with an electric guitar.” (Find the Wild Ones’ version on our recent collection “You Heard It Here First” CDCHD 1204.)

To many the most significant recipient of Chip’s compositions is Evie Sands. “She had this honey voice that was one of a kind. How could you ever not love that, every minute, working with her, rehearsing with her, producing her.” Given half a chance we’d have filled this CD with her tracks, but had to narrow the choice to just two – the feisty ‘Run Home To Your Mama’ and her stunning original of ‘I Can’t Let Go’. Three others represent her by proxy: ‘Picture Me Gone’ (in a splendiferous version by Madeline Bell), ‘Angel Of The Morning’ (Merrilee Rush’s hit rendition) and ‘Any Way That You Want Me’ (Evie’s breakthrough song, heard here in a recording by Tina Mason from three years earlier).

All but three of our selection were recorded between 1964 and 1968. Closing the proceedings are three of Chip’s most important 1970s compositions: ‘Son Of A Rotten Gambler’ by the Hollies, ‘Blackbird (Hold Your Head High)’ by black country singer Stoney Edwards and Chip’s own recording of the autobiographical ‘(I Want) The Real Thing’. Chip can also be heard as Kathy McCord’s uncredited singing partner. Other highlights include Lorraine Ellison’s ultra-soulful ‘Try (Just A Little Bit Harder)’, the delicious ‘Make Me Belong To You’ by Barbara Lewis, the original demo of ‘Storybook Children’, sung by its co-writer Billy Vera with Nona Hendryx, and Walter Jackson’s version of the oft-recorded ‘Welcome Home’, one of Chip’s favourites.

The booklet includes a 7,000-word essay, much of it in Chip’s own words. He comes across as not only one of the greatest songwriters in the business, but also one of the nicest guys. If this compilation sparks an interest in his more recent activities, his book Songs From A Dutch Tour, which comes with a disc of new songs, might be the place to begin. To hear some of the tracks he cut as teenage rocker Wes Voight in the late 50s, check out the Ace CD “King of Rock’n’Roll” CDCHD 975. As we go to press we hear that Chip has been ill. We hope that “Wild Thing” will serve as a get well soon card and help speed the recovery of one of the greatest singer-songwriters of the past 50 years.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Wild Thing - The Troggs

  • 02 Preview I Can't Let Go - Evie Sands

  • 03 Preview I Can Make It With You - The Pozo-Seco Singers

  • 04 Preview Try (Just A Little Bit Harder) - Lorraine Ellison

  • 05 Preview Angel Of The Morning - Merrilee Rush

  • 06 Preview Sneakin' Up On You - Peggy Lee

  • 07 Preview Country Girl-City Man - Billy Vera & Judy Clay

  • 08 Preview Welcome Home - Walter Jackson

  • 09 Preview Is That You - Arthur & Mary

  • 10 Preview Picture Me Gone - Madeline Bell

  • 11 Preview I Can't Wait Until I See My Baby's Face - Aretha Franklin

  • 12 Preview Any Way That You Want Me - Tina Mason

  • 13 Preview A Most Unusual Boy - Patti Austin

  • 14 Preview His True Love For You - Al McCarther

  • 15 Preview Make Me Belong To You - Barbara Lewis

  • 16 Preview My Johnny Doesn't Come Around Anymore - Debbie Rollins

  • 17 Preview Tommy - Reparata & The Delrons

  • 18 Preview Don't Say It Baby - Dusty Springfield

  • 19 Preview Wake Up John - Little Eva

  • 20 Preview Storybook Children - Billy Vera & Nona Hendryx

  • 21 Preview Run Home To Your Mama - Evie Sands

  • 22 Preview I'll Give My Heart To You - Kathy McCord

  • 23 Preview Son Of A Rotten Gambler - The Hollies

  • 24 Preview Blackbird (Hold Your Head High) - Stoney Edwards

  • 25 Preview (I Want) The Real Thing - Chip Taylor

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes




A mouth-watering collection…a truly luscious package. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought