Phil's Spectre - A Wall Of Soundalikes Various Artists (Phils Spectre)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

A dozen first-rate examples of Spector’s influence. Pressed on 180g red vinyl, with fully illustrated track commentary on inner bag.

Phil Spector did not produce any of the tracks on this album. They all just sound as if he might have. Given Spector’s great success recording the Crystals, Darlene Love, the Ronettes, Bob B Soxx & the Blue Jeans and the Righteous Brothers for his Philles label between 1962 and 1965, it was inevitable his distinctive sound would be emulated by other producers, frequently those from within his orbit.

Super-dramatic blue-eyed soul opener ‘Who Am I’ by Jerry Ganey, for example, was produced by Bill Medley of the Righteous Brothers, not long after Medley had freed himself from his contract with Spector, proving he could hold his own against his former boss. ‘Wishful Thinking’, a not dissimilar opus by the Knickerbockers, was produced by Wrecking Crew keyboard ace Leon Russell, a regular participant in Spector sessions. Long-time Spector buddy Nino Tempo, sax player on many Philles recordings, is represented with ‘All Strung Out’, a duet with his sister April Stevens, and ‘Why Can’t A Boy And Girl Just Stay In Love’, a breathy Paris Sisters-style number by actress Noreen Corcoran. The latter, by the way, is the only track here not featured on our “Phil’s Spectre” CD series.

Elsewhere, never did a guy sound more like a Ronette than Johnny Caswell does on ‘My Girl’, ‘Good-Bye Baby’ by Maureen Gray – also written and produced by the John Madara and David White team – shows someone had been playing close attention to Darlene Love’s ‘Christmas (Baby, Please Come Home)’, Timmy & the Persianettes give the Bob B Soxx treatment to ‘Timmy Boy’ and Lorraine & the Delights sound like the Ronettes meet Madam Butterfly on ‘I Just Couldn’t Say’. Top-notch decks by Bobby Coleman, Kane & Abel, Dorothy Berry and Dan Folger complete the collection. All in all, you’d be hard pressed to found a dozen better examples of Spector’s influence.


Mick Patrick


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Who Am I - Jerry Ganey

  • 02 Preview My Girl - Johnny Caswell

  • 03 Preview (Baby) You Don't Have To Tell Me - Bobby Coleman

  • 04 Preview Good-bye Baby - Maureen Gray

  • 05 Preview He Will Break Your Heart - Kane & Abel

  • 06 Preview You're So Fine - Dorothy Berry

Side 2

  • 01 Preview All Strung Out - Nino Tempo & April Stevens

  • 02 Preview The Way Of The Crowd - Dan Folger

  • 03 Preview Timmy Boy - Timmy & the Persianettes

  • 04 Preview Wishful Thinking - The Knickerbockers

  • 05 Preview I Just Couldn't Say - Lorraine & the Delights

  • 06 Preview Why Can't A Boy And Girl Just Stay In Love - Noreen Corcoran

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought