The Leiber & Stoller Story: Shake 'Em Up & Let 'Em Roll Vol 3 1962-1969 Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1156

This month we are celebrating the release of the third and final volume of Ace’s salute to the songs and productions of rock‘n’roll songwriters supreme, Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller. It’s a volume that takes their career through from the early 60s, up to the end of that decade – the point where their work begins to appeal to a broader audience than ours. Like its two predecessors, the CD shows that Leiber and Stoller were always two or three steps ahead of their contemporaries.

Many people think of them just as rock‘n’roll and/or R & B songwriters. As our CDs show they could do ‘all that and more’ where the art of popular song writing is concerned. They had taken everything from blues to teen pop in their stride in the 1950s, and these skills helped them come to terms with diverse styles, including soul, bubblegum, MOR and even country music, in the 1960s. The scope of the material here is something to be admired and, hopefully, enjoyed by those who check it out.

L & S wrote classics in the 60s, too. Songs like On Broadway, Jackson, I Who Have Nothing and Is That All There Is are as worthy of the accolade of ‘all time great’ as are Hound Dog, Smokey Joe’s Café from the duo’s earliest rushes of creativity. It’s a fact that some of the finest recordings of the 1960s bear the names of Leiber and Stoller as writers.

Leiber and Stoller took their place among the all time greats many years ago, and happily they will be able to enjoy Ace’s three volume salute to their musical achievements. We’ve worked closely with them and Mike’s son, Peter, on the series and its content enjoys their endorsement (although we had to twist their collective arms a few times to get them to agree to include some of the tracks, which they perhaps didn’t like as much as Mick Patrick and I did). We’ve enjoyed working on this series, even when we’ve had to find substitutes for contractually unavailable tracks - as many great L & S-penned recordings currently are.

Even though that’s “all there is” from Ace as far as this series is concerned, we hope that it will encourage everyone to dig deeper into the work of two of the greatest songwriters and producers of the 20th century. Shake ‘em up, and let ‘em roll!


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview You Can't Love Them All - Solomon Burke

  • 02 Preview Tricky Dicky - Richie Barrett

  • 03 Preview His Kiss - Betty Harris

  • 04 Preview My Heart Said (The Bossa Nova) - Irene Reid

  • 05 Preview Drip Drop - Dion

  • 06 Preview Rat Race - The Drifters

  • 07 Preview Midnight Town, Daybreak City - Roy Hamilton

  • 08 Preview It's So Exciting - The Exciters

  • 09 Preview Down Home Girl - Alvin Robinson

  • 10 Preview Only In America - Jay & the Americans

  • 11 Preview Keep It Up - The Soul Brothers

  • 12 Preview Brother Bill (The Last Clean Shirt) - The Honeyman

  • 13 Preview Jackson - Johnny Cash & June Carter

  • 14 Preview Bull Dog - The Shangri-Las

  • 15 Preview The Gunfighter - Tommy Roe

  • 16 Preview Take It Like A Man - The Walker Brothers

  • 17 Preview Juicy - Willie Bobo

  • 18 Preview I (Who Have Nothing) - Dee Dee Warwick

  • 19 Preview You'll Never Leave Him - Freddie Scott

  • 20 Preview Where's The Girl - Ben E King

  • 21 Preview Flying - Carmen McRae

  • 22 Preview Shake 'Em Up And Let 'Em Roll - Jerry Leiber & the Coasters

  • 23 Preview On Broadway - Jimmy Scott

  • 24 Preview Is That All There Is? - Peggy Lee

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes




Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought