The Laurie Records Story Vol 2: The Ernie Maresca Years Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

Almost from its inception in 1958, until its demise in the 1990s, the name of Ernie Maresca looms large in the story of Laurie Records. He wrote or co-wrote every track on this collection. A man for all seasons, the Bronx-born Italian-American songwriter, singer, producer and sometime hitmaker started out hustling his demos to Dion and ended up running the company's publishing arm. Domiciled these days in the Sunshine State of Florida, Mr Maresca is an invaluable repository of the history of those halcyon days of the New York independent recording scene. As a youngster, Ernie liked the Mills Brothers, Joni James and the Hilltoppers. Then he discovered Alan Freed's Moondog Show. Soon he was writing his own rock'n'roll songs, one of which, No One Knows, found its way on to the jukebox in a local poolroom. Dion played pool at the same joint, heard the demo and wanted to know the singer was. A great partnership was soon born.

"I went downtown and met Gene and Bob Schwartz at Laurie," says Ernie quoted in the booklet. "Gene liked the song and they recorded it. I'd never even heard of Laurie Records until I went up there with Dion. After they put out No One Knows, I would go up there with demos. I used to cut a lot of demos, you know. I lived in the Bronx and Laurie were midtown. I'd go like two or three times a month with demos that I had made. You had to bring a demo in those days. Studios were like $15 an hour. I guess it was a lot of money but you could cut two or three things in an hour. I'd bring an acetate up there and they would play it. I used to do a lot of them at Associated Studios and a lot at Allegro Studios. That was in the basement of 1650 Broadway. Laurie ended up owning Allegro. I was really a hustler, trying to show my songs. I had good songs and I was there at Laurie regularly. Eventually I became friends with Gene and Bob. I was about 19 and they were like 35-years-old. They were good people. One day Gene asked me why I didn't go and work for them and handle the publishing, or whatever. So I started working up there and I got in close with Bob, Gene and Eliot Greenberg. I got right in there. It's kind of a miracle, to be honest with you. I ended up selling the record company for them to Capitol in about 1992."

In addition to a brace of early Dion & the Belmonts tracks and a pair of storming solo offerings from fellow Belmont Carlo, this CD contains a slew of doo-wop sides by outfits such as the Demilles, the Harps, the Four Coins, the Four Graduates, the like of which are the backbone of Laurie's sound and the crystallisation of the logo's lasting identity. Those with a taste for more soulful sounds need look no further than the Dean & Jean, Chiffons or Hoagy Lands offerings. "The Chiffons were great," says Ernie. "They had a thing where everything they did had to be done by the Tokens. Those guys were very the talented but they ran into a dead end, so Gene and Eliot had a crack at recording the girls. Please Don't Tell Me Now by Dean and Jean, what a great record that was. Jean was a wonderful woman. She and Dean, both of them were really good people, I'm telling you. I really, really liked them a lot. I got along with them from day one. I'm sorry to hear that Jean died. I wish she had called me because she probably had royalties coming to her. Happy Go Lucky is a thing that I cut with Hoagy Lands. We did it at Allegro in about 1967. I kinda wish they'd released it as a single because I thought it might have done something but it never even came out. I used it later on a compilation. I heard Hoagy died last year. He was another great guy. He was terrific, a real talent."

As you can see, Ernie Maresca not only wrote a lot of great songs, he also tells a very good story. You'll find plenty of both on this CD.

by Mick Patrick


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview (I Want) The Good Life - Ernie Maresca

  • 02 Preview Brenda The Great Pretender - Carlo

  • 03 Preview Please Don't Tell Me Now - Dean and Jean

  • 04 Preview Cry And Be On My Way - The Demilles

  • 05 Preview Stranger In My Arms - Carlo

  • 06 Preview Candy Queen - The Four Graduates

  • 07 Preview Marie - The Harps

  • 08 Preview I'll Never Love Again - The Four Coins

  • 09 Preview Up On The Bridge - The Chiffons

  • 10 Preview Open Your Eyes (I Will Be There) - The Chiffons

  • 11 Preview No One Knows - Dion & the Belmonts

  • 12 Preview A Lover's Prayer - Dion and the Belmonts

  • 13 Preview Try Your Luck - Bernadette Carroll

  • 14 Preview Tell Me - Jimmy Clanton

  • 15 Preview The Spirit Of Woodstock - Ernie Maresca

  • 16 Preview The Normal Ones - The Brooklyn Boys

  • 17 Preview Seven Day Wonder - Dean and Jean

  • 18 Preview Happy Go Lucky - Hoagy Lands

  • 19 Preview What Am I To Do - The Traces

  • 20 Preview Let's Dance Close - Jimmy Curtiss & The Regents

  • 21 Preview Rock And Roll Revival - The Five Discs

  • 22 Preview Hey Gingerbread - The Teardrops

  • 23 Preview The Hat - Frank Lyndon

  • 24 Preview Please Don't Play Me A7 - Artie Chicago (From The Bronx)

  • 25 Preview My Son - Ernie Maresca

  • 26 Preview What Is A Marine - Ernie Maresca

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought