The Soul Of Money Volume 3 Various Artists (Money Records)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
The Soul Of Money Volume 3 (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

After John Dolphin was shot dead in 1958, his wife Ruth continued to run the business through to the mid 70s. She was very business savvy and knew how to pick the right people and delegate properly. Al Scott, Arthur Wright, Hank Jacobs, Don Julian and Rudy Ray Moore made sure that if it was a Money release it was going to be good.

This final volume of the Money soul story begins with Bettye Swann, the artist whose success was the rock on which this musical history was built. I’m not sure if the Northern soul public, or even the modern soul division, realise how good these tracks are. Virtually all self-penned, Bettye’s tracks manage to combine true emotion with the dance beats and hip sounds of the day. ‘Don’t Take My Mind’ and ‘The Heartache Is Gone’ both sound stunning while the LP version of ‘I Will Not Cry’ is totally different to the flip that sold a million copies on the back of ‘Make Me Yours’; it is far superior. Undoubtedly Bettye’s success in selling so well has led to some rare soul fans bypassing her 45s for scarcer sounds. I have done it myself, only to be extra pleased when I turn up overlooked gems like these.

Other Money, Ten Star, Utopia and Call Me releases on this volume include Bobby Angelle’s three tracks: a super-rare mid 60s dancer; an uptempo take on a great Jimmy Reed number and a churchified southern soul wailer á là James Brown. There’s a stomper and a beautiful ballad from the Larks, and an attempt to cash in on the beat boom by passing themselves off as a bunch of Limeys that fooled nobody apart from me. Other regular label Money contributors include M&M & The Peanuts with a vocal group ballad and a pretty mid-tempo ditty for all you lovers out there, while Hank Jacobs either fronting, or as just part of the TKOs, gives us two, possibly three, organ-led soul/jazz/funk groovers.

Money’s proliferation of great 60s soul sides has meant that its modern soul profile has never been particularly high, despite the excellence of those later releases: Delilah Moore, Pat Livingston and Eddie Horan being particular highlights. The unissued masters are also of very high quality, an example being the Choice Of Colors’ terrific 1971 recording, inexplicably left to gather dust on the shelves.

Other highlights include singer-songwriter Eric Williams’ one shot at stardom and an attempt at being Sam & Dave from Tommy & Eddie. (Earlier in the year they were known as Buster & Eddie of ‘Can’t Be Still’ Northern soul fame.) Both of those singles are scarce and collectable, as is the Question Marks track featured. The Mysteries are a made up “unknown” group name, thereby adding some whodunit action to the story. There are half a dozen catalogue numbers with no record allocated to them; perhaps they will turn out to be the missing releases and the Mysteries will be solved. If you’ve got those missing numbers languishing in your collection, don’t forget to tell us.

Ady Croasdell 2009


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Don't Take My Mind - Bettye Swann

  • 02 Preview You Got Me Dizzy - Bobby Angelle

  • 03 Preview I'll Give My Love To You - Eric Williams

  • 04 Preview If She Wants To Go - The Choice Of Colors

  • 05 Preview I'm Gonna Speak Out - Eddie Horan

  • 06 Preview Sugar Love - Pat Livingston

  • 07 Preview I Wish - Delilah Moore

  • 08 Preview Speak To Me In Your Soulful Way - Hank Jacobs & The TKOs

  • 09 Preview Put Your Weight On It (Part 2) - Fillmore Street Soul Rebellions

  • 10 Preview Doin' The Thing - The Question Marks

  • 11 Preview I Don't Want Nobody - Tommy & Eddie

  • 12 Preview I Will Not Cry - Bettye Swann

  • 13 Preview Hard Times Are Coming - Unknown Duo

  • 14 Preview Open Up Your Eyes - The M&Ms & The Peanuts

  • 15 Preview Someone Is Gonna Hurt You - Bobby Angelle

  • 16 Preview The Answer Came Too Late - The Larks

  • 17 Preview Why'd You Put Me On - Bobbi Row & The Englishmen

  • 18 Preview There's Nothing I Wouldn't Do - The M&Ms & The Peanuts

  • 19 Preview Sad And Blue - The Mysteries

  • 20 Preview The Charge - The TKOs with Hank Jacobs At The Organ

  • 21 Preview The Skate - The Larks

  • 22 Preview Give Back Your Lovin' - Don Trotter

  • 23 Preview Girl You're So Fine - Bobby Angelle

  • 24 Preview The Heartache Is Gone - Bettye Swann

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Another superb 24-track selection. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought