Good Good Feeling! More Motown Girls Various Artists (Motown)


60s Soul
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1597

Our latest collection of 60s Motown magic from the company’s stable of fabulous female talent features many tracks previously available only as digital downloads, and six unreleased in any format. Here’s series mastermind Keith Hughes with some background on those six exclusive unissued titles:
We lead off with ‘This Love I’ve Got’, a great belter originally assigned to Ivy Jo Hunter. His version hasn’t survived (if it was ever cut) but Martha & the Vandellas’ ­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­recording is sensational. The key changes are all “apparent”, edging the song upwards to keep the dance floor lively: the track fades in the same key in which it started.
After two singles on VIP, the Lewis Sisters’ recording career with Motown was effectively over, but they continued writing and cutting demos for the company; ‘My World Is Crumbling’ was their penultimate effort. Theirs is the original version of a track now known as a Brenda Holloway classic, thanks to the appearance of her recording on the popular “A Cellarful Of Motownǃ” CD series.
‘Good Good Feeling’ is possibly the last of Brenda Holloway’s 100-plus Motown recordings, about three quarters of which languished in the vaults until relatively recent times. It’s clearly unfinished – strings are shown on the recording sheet, yet are not present on the tape – but nonetheless Brenda gives it her best. Following some anguish over her tracks being passed over so many times, she left the company in 1968 to concentrate on married life.
Mississippi-born blues singer Hattie Littles recorded over 40 sides for Motown, almost all of which were unissued at the time. Although she had only one release, she was a fixture at the company between 1962 and 1964, touring with the Spinners and Marvin Gaye when not busy recording. ‘When I Was In School’ is from the pen of Earl Johnson.
Singing actress Barbara McNair had been with Motown for nearly three years when she cut the only known version of ‘Watching A Plane In The Sky’, an early Tom Baird song. Her time there was coming to an end: she had released two long-players and four singles, but hadn’t scored a hit, and her film career was beginning to take off. She would soon star as Sidney Poitier’s wife in They Call Me Mr Tibbs!, and movie roles don’t come much higher profile than that.

‘In The Neighborhood’, here by Connie Haines, was recorded by numerous Motown artists (sometimes with the alternate ‘On The Avenue’ lyrics) although not released by any of them at the time. Connie joined the company in 1965; she stayed for less than a year, releasing only one single, but did have the distinction of being the first to record ‘For Once In My Life’, one of the company’s most covered songs.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview This Love I've Got - Martha & The Vandellas

  • 02 Preview Nothing But A Fool - Gladys Knight & The Pips

  • 03 Preview I'm In Love (And I Know It) (alternate lead vocal) - The Velvelettes

  • 04 Preview Good Good Feeling - Brenda Holloway

  • 05 Preview I'm So Helpless (When I'm With You) - Debbie Dean

  • 06 Preview Can't Figure It Out - The Lewis Sisters

  • 07 Preview A Love So Deep Inside - The Velvelettes

  • 08 Preview Show Me The Way - Gladys Knight & The Pips

  • 09 Preview Hold Me Oh My Darling - Ann Bogan

  • 10 Preview I Don't Want Your Promises - LaBrenda Ben

  • 11 Preview Drop In The Bucket - Kim Weston

  • 12 Preview Don't Be Too Long - Anita Knorl

  • 13 Preview It's Hard To Walk Away - Martha & The Vandellas

  • 14 Preview Stuck Up - Oma Heard

  • 15 Preview My Daddy Knows Best - Little Lisa

  • 16 Preview In Twenty Words Or Less - LaBrenda Ben

  • 17 Preview When I Was In School - Hattie Littles

  • 18 Preview Keep Me - Brenda Holloway

  • 19 Preview Never Trust A Man - Chris Clark

  • 20 Preview Watching A Plane In The Sky - Barbara McNair

  • 21 Preview In The Neighborhood - Connie Haines

  • 22 Preview My World Is Crumbling - The Lewis Sisters

  • 23 Preview Send Him To Me - Debbie Dean

  • 24 Preview Can't We Be Strangers Again - Blinky

  • 25 Preview All I Could Do Was Cry - Yvonne Fair

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought