Let's Do The Boogaloo Various Artists (BGP Various)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:
BGP2 307

This product is also available in these versions:
Let's Do The Boogaloo, CD (£12.56)

The boogaloo is an infectious and little-defined dance that dominated American dance records in the mid-60s. It was the joyous place where young black and Latin youths met and made sweet music. All previous Boogaloo compilations have focused on the Latin aspect, “Let’s Do The Boogaloo” looks at how the music crossed over between the two.
The boogaloo craze started in Chicago with a record by Tom & Jerryo, but it proved to have an enduring legacy with its hit-making potential running from 1965 through to 1968 – much longer than any other comparable dance. Our earliest records – The infectious ‘Ready Steady Go’ by Prince & Princess, produced by Rolling Stones producer Jimmy Miller – kicks us off with a frenetic beat and some Latin horns. It is the perfect boogaloo crossover.
Elsewhere we feature big sounds from both the soul and Latin side of the music. Club classics by the likes of Hector Rivera and Roy Lee Johnson, and obscurities by The PS 54 School Yard and Shirley Butler. The musical aspects of this compilation hail from as far apart as Texas and Detroit and Philadelphia and LA, where we found the previously unreleased Bob & Earl Band ‘Boogaloo’.
The extensive sleeve notes explain the story of the dance and how the music adapted to it. Bringing together the many strands and explaining what connects Chubby Checker, Charlie Palmieri, Mongo Santamaria and Jimmy Castor. This is musical and dancefloor dynamite that brought together communities, and “Let’s Do The Boogaloo” is the definitive compilation from the genre.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Ready, Steady, Go - Prince & Princess

  • 02 Preview We Got A Thing That's In The Groove - The Capitols

  • 03 Preview Playing It Cool - Hector Rivera

  • 04 Preview (Papa Chew) Do The Boo-Ga-Loo Pt 1 - Tom & Jerroo

  • 05 Preview Boogaloo #3 - Roy Lee Johnson & His Band

  • 06 Preview Block Party - Jimmy Castor

Side 2

  • 01 Preview I'm Gonna Make It - Pete Terrace

  • 02 Preview What I Feel - Richie & The PS 54 School Yard

  • 03 Preview Skate, Boogaloo And Karate Too - Lee Harris

  • 04 Preview Bar-Kays Boogaloo - The Bar-Kays

  • 05 Preview Hector - The Village Callers

  • 06 Preview Mongo's Boogaloo - Mongo Santamaria

Side 3

  • 01 Preview Hey You! Little Boo-Ga-Loo - Chubby Checker

  • 02 Preview Me And You (Doin' The Boogaloo) - Lou Courtney

  • 03 Preview Boogaloo Down Broadway - The Fantastic Johnny C

  • 04 Preview Boogaloo Zoo - Shirley Butler

  • 05 Preview Let's Do The Funky Boogaloo Pt 1 - Barry Jones

  • 06 Preview Boogaloo Pt 1 - The Bob & Earl Band

Side 4

  • 01 Preview Bugulu - Charlie Palmieri & His Orchestra, Vocal By Victor Valazquez

  • 02 Preview Watusi Boogaloo - Willie Rosario & His Orchestra

  • 03 Preview Bugaloo Party - Harold & Connie

  • 04 Preview Have Some Boogaloo - Timmy Thomas

  • 05 Preview Boogaloo Investigator - The Exotics

  • 06 Preview Funky Funky Boogaloo - Jimmy Brown with The Jimmy Brown Band

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes




Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought