Stax Revue Live At The 5/4 Ballroom Various Artists (Stax)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

Let me tell you a story. It was August 1965 and the, then fledgling, Stax Records was finally turning into a professional record company, with the hiring of Al Bell as a promotions man. Up until then the promotional side of the business had been handled by their distributor, Atlantic. To develop more of a profile on the West Coast a show was arranged at the 54 (pronounced five four) Ballroom, the legendary dance hall in the Watts area of L.A. which had hosted every major blues, R&B and soul act since the fifties. The D.J. for the night and part organiser, was the Magnificent Montague, whose catch phrase at the time was "burn, baby, burn". Throughout the show Montague stalked the stage exhorting, first Booker T & The Mgs, then The Mad Lads, The Astors, Carla Thomas, William Bell, The Mar-Keys, and finally Rufus Thomas to "burn, baby, burn". The set was hot, as you might imagine with the MGs cooking on a seriously re-fried "Green Onions" and a wicked version of "Bootleg", The Mad Lads and The Astors performing their hits "Don't Have To Shop Around" and "Candy", William Bell getting seriously sanctified on "You Don't Miss Your Water" and Rufus doing and walking the dog along with the audience in his own inimitable fashion. All the while Montague is yelling "burn, baby, burn". A week later the Watts riots broke and they did....."burn, baby, burn". Stax felt at the time that it was inappropriate to go ahead with the projected release of a live album from the shows. So here you have it 27 years later, the legendary Stax Revue Live At The 54 Ball-room-.-what can I say but......... "BURN BABY, BURN!!!!!"


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Green Onions - Booker T & The MGs

  • 02 Preview You Can't Sit Down - Booker T & The MGs

  • 03 Preview Summertime - Booker T & The MGs

  • 04 Preview Soul Twist - Booker T & The MGs

  • 05 Preview Don't Have To Shop Around - The Mad Lads

  • 06 Preview Candy - Astors

  • 07 Preview Last Night - The Mar-Keys

  • 08 Preview Any Other Way - William Bell

  • 09 Preview You Don't Miss Your Water - William Bell

  • 10 Preview Every Ounce Of Strength - Carla Thomas

  • 11 Preview Boot-Leg - Booker T & The MGs

  • 12 Preview Do The Dog - Rufus Thomas

  • 13 Preview Walking The Dog - Rufus Thomas

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought