Can I Be A Witness - Stax Southern Groove Various Artists (Stax)


70s Soul
Catalogue Id:

A brand-new collection gathered from the Stax catalogue of southern-flavoured dancers, from soul to funk and in between.
“Can I Be A Witness: Stax Southern Groove” features 11 previously unreleased tracks from such illustrious names as the Soul Children, Little Milton, the Emotions, the Sweet Inspirations, the Nightingales and Frederick Knight, amongst others.
The other nine tracks from artists such as Eddie Floyd, R.B. Hudmon, the Rance Allen Group and Eric Mercury delve deep into the archive, bringing you B-sides, obscure album cuts, dancefloor favourites and originally unissued tracks.
The booklet is well illustrated and comes with an in-depth essay from compiler Dean Rudland.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Bad Water - Little Milton

  • 02 Preview Can We Talk This Over - Eddie Floyd

  • 03 Preview How Can I Be A Witness - R.B. Hudmon

  • 04 Preview Love Is Taking Over - Eric Mercury

  • 05 Preview Burning On Both Ends - The Nightingales

  • 06 Preview Forever And A Day - Mel & Tim

  • 07 Preview I Wanna Make Up (Before We Break Up) - Major Lance

  • 08 Preview You Ain't Playing With No Toy - The Soul Children

  • 09 Preview I Got To Be Myself - The Rance Allen Group

  • 10 Preview Passing Thru/World Keeps Turning - Frederick Knight

  • 11 Preview Ain't Enough Hours - The Emotions

  • 12 Preview Changes - Jeanne & The Darlings

  • 13 Preview Slow Down - The Nightingales

  • 14 Preview Soul Groove - Art Jerry Miller

  • 15 Preview Don't Fight The Feeling - The Sweet Inspirations

  • 16 Preview Three's A Crowd - The Temprees

  • 17 Preview Helping Man - Jean Knight

  • 18 Preview True Love Don't Grow On Trees (Demo) - Veda Brown

  • 19 Preview The Natural You - Ollie & The Nightingales

  • 20 Preview Leaning On Your Undying Love - Shack

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought