We're The Soul Girls! The Complete Volt Recordings Various Artists (Stax)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

This Stax distaff double-header anthologises two underrated teams of ladies whose voices were utilised behind the scenes at McLemore Avenue as well as in their own right. Both were with the company for a number of years and neither ever had a long-playing vinyl release, which makes this new CD extremely welcome.

“We’re The Soul Girls” features everything released on Volt by Jeanne and the Darlings and the Charmels, as well as eleven tracks that were not issued at the time. Their original 45s are admired by girl group fans, and both the Darlings’ ‘Soul Girl’ and the Charmels’ ‘As Long As I Have You’ are also cherished by collectors of original breakbeats.

The Charmels were at Stax throughout the Atlantic-distributed years. As the Tonettes, theirs were the first voices to be heard on the Volt label when ‘No Tears’ became Volt 101 in early 1962 (#100 was an instrumental by the Triumphs). The Tonettes had a second single a few months later, and recorded enough material to fill four more 45s, but they caught an unexpected break when Nashville label Sound Stage 7 needed a black female group to go out as the Dixiebelles to promote a studio-created Hot 100 hit called ‘Down At Papa Joe’s’. The Tonettes masqueraded as the Dixiebelles until that concept had run its course, and returned to the Volt roster in late 1966 as the Charmels (and, on their final Volt 45, the Charmells). Working with Isaac Hayes and David Porter they rolled out four exemplary 45s over an 18 month period that extended into the early days of the post-Atlantic era. 

They also backed up a number of Stax’ solo artists during part of that period, a role they shared with a trio of equally estimable ladies led by Arkansan Jeanne Dolphus – or Jeanne Darling as she was known professionally. Jeanne and her fellow Darlings would quickly become Stax’ equivalent of Motown’s Andantes, lending their vocal backups to an increasing number of sessions featuring solo Stax acts. Unlike the Andantes, who managed just one single in their own name during the years they were with Motown, Jeanne and the Darlings saw six singles issued over a three-year period with Volt. They too started their own career under the supervision of Hayes and Porter, before moving on to work with other great Stax writer-producers, including Don Davis and the celebrated ‘We Three’ trio of Bettye Crutcher, Homer Banks and Raymond Jackson. None of the unissued tracks by either group is inferior, and just about all of them could have been considered for singles. 

You might think that there can’t be much left to do with Stax, given how many great CDs have preceded these two on the Ace catalogue. That’s not the case and, even as these two are finding their way into your collections, I’m mining the tape vaults for yet more exciting projects by both familiar and fairly obscure Stax acts. The ‘clicks’ just keep on coming….

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview How Can You Mistreat The One You Love - Jeanne and the Darlings

  • 02 Preview That Man Of Mine - Jeanne and the Darlings

  • 03 Preview Soul Girl - Jeanne and the Darlings

  • 04 Preview What's Gonna Happen To Me - Jeanne and the Darlings

  • 05 Preview Hang Me Now - Jeanne and the Darlings

  • 06 Preview What Will Later On Be Like - Jeanne and the Darlings

  • 07 Preview It's Unbelievable (How You Control My Soul) - Jeanne and the Darlings

  • 08 Preview I Like What You're Doing To Me - Jeanne and the Darlings

  • 09 Preview It's Time To Pay For The Fun (We've Had) - Jeanne and the Darlings

  • 10 Preview Standing In The Need Of Your Love - Jeanne and the Darlings

  • 11 Preview Singing About Love - Jeanne and the Darlings

  • 12 Preview Let Them See In Me - Jeanne and the Darlings

  • 13 Preview I'm In Love With You - Jeanne and the Darlings

  • 14 Preview Changes - Jeanne and the Darlings

  • 15 Preview Something Sweet About My Baby - The Charmels

  • 16 Preview Please Uncle Sam (Send Back My Man) - The Charmels

  • 17 Preview Loving Material - The Charmels

  • 18 Preview I'll Gladly Take You Back - The Charmels

  • 19 Preview As Long As I've Got You - The Charmels

  • 20 Preview Baby Come And Get It - The Charmels

  • 21 Preview Sea Shell - The Charmels

  • 22 Preview You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling - The Charmels

  • 23 Preview Baby Hurry - The Charmels

  • 24 Preview Someone Made You For Me - The Charmels

  • 25 Preview Peace Maker - The Charmels

  • 26 Preview Oo-oh A-a-a-h - The Charmels

  • 27 Preview I've Done It Again - The Charmels

  • 28 Preview Let's Exchange Hearts - The Charmels

  • 29 Preview A-Tisket, A-Tasket - The Charmels

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes





Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought