The Golden Age Of American Rock 'n' Roll V7 Various Artists (Golden Age Of American Rock and Roll)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

Always guaranteed - that's the official "Golden Age" promise. The continuing popularity of this series is partly due to the fact that we have never allowed complacency to creep in. Each new volume in the series is treated as though it were the first, with all the enthusiasm and concentration of resources that this entails. Of course, this being the Ace web site, you'd half expect us to wax lyrical, but if ever there was a case of putting our money where our mouths are, then this is it. The "Golden Age" series is built-to-last and no expense is spared in refining the standards of visual and sonic presentation that purchasers have come to expect. The booklet, a 24-page jewel-case buster, is crammed with mouthwatering pics and ephemera, bringing to life the stories behind the hits.

With agonised deliberation, each track has to pass muster on a number of counts that collectively beg one question - 'is it a "Golden Age" record?' One glance at the track listing will tell you all you need to know. There is the usual liberal sprinkling of doo wop classics, Trevor Churchill's golden rule of pop being that it's all doo wop! The earliest track Ling Ting Tong by the 5 Keys (from 1954), surely one of the first rock'n'roll records, has a very advanced production for its time. Dale Hawkins' Susie-Q has never sounded better. We located a raw master which is a few seconds longer than the original single and breaks down rather than fades. Caterpillar Crawl by the Strangers, a 1959 instrumental featuring the futuristic guitar playing of cult hero Joel Scott Hill, makes its CD debut here and also has a longer ending than the original release. Most re-issues of Jimmy Clanton's 1958 smash Just A Dream are enhanced with echo and EQ. Here is the unadulterated original. As for Vito & The Salutations' absurd rendition of Unchained Melody, this will either have you jumping for joy or running for cover!

A few days after we'd closed the book on Volume 7, we learned that Sonny Knight, whose 1956 hit, Confidential, is one of the key tracks, had died at the age of 64. Sonny, who lived in Hawaii, had been in a coma for the last two years following a stroke and we dedicate Golden Age 7 to his memory.

by Rob Finnis


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Book Of Love - The Monotones

  • 02 Preview Susie-Q - Dale Hawkins

  • 03 Preview C C Rider - Chuck Willis

  • 04 Preview Echo - The Emotions

  • 05 Preview Come On, Let's Go - Ritchie Valens

  • 06 Preview Mother-In-Law - Ernie K-Doe

  • 07 Preview Ling, Ting, Tong - The Five Keys

  • 08 Preview Sea Cruise - Frankie Ford

  • 09 Preview Just A Dream - Jimmy Clanton & His Rockets

  • 10 Preview The Caterpillar Crawl - The Strangers

  • 11 Preview To Be Loved (Forever) - The Pentagons

  • 12 Preview Cherrystone - The Addrisi Brothers

  • 13 Preview Unchained Melody - Vito & the Salutations

  • 14 Preview Pretty Girls Everywhere - Eugene Church & the Fellows

  • 15 Preview Confidential - Sonny Knight

  • 16 Preview Watch Your Step - Bobby Parker

  • 17 Preview Harlem Nocturne - The Viscounts

  • 18 Preview I Like It Like That, Part 1 - Chris Kenner

  • 19 Preview Foot Stomping (Part 1) - The Flares

  • 20 Preview Money (That's What I Want) - Barrett Strong

  • 21 Preview Tear Drops - Lee Andrews & the Hearts

  • 22 Preview Mr Lee - The Bobbettes

  • 23 Preview Rhythm Of The Rain - The Cascades

  • 24 Preview I Wonder What She's Doing Tonight - Barry & the Tamerlanes

  • 25 Preview Hushabye - The Mystics

  • 26 Preview Clap Your Hands - The Beau-Marks

  • 27 Preview Sugar Bee - Cleveland Crochet and Band

  • 28 Preview Shop Around - The Miracles

  • 29 Preview Daughter - The Blenders

  • 30 Preview Yea, Yea - The Kendall Sisters

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Essential listening.

Record Collector

This disc is pure entertainment from the moment it hits the deck.

Blues & Rhythm

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought