Califia: The Songs Of Lee Hazlewood Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1277

This is the latest addition to our high profile Songwriter series. Comprising familiar Lee Hazlewood fan favourites and scarcer titles in equal measure, the set spans Sanford Clark’s Top 10 hit of 1956 ‘The Fool’ (built on a memorable contribution from guitar wizard Al Casey) to 1970’s German language interpretation of ‘And I Loved You Then’ by transcontinental pop princess Peggy March (a song familiar to buffs via Lee's recording on his “13” LP).

No such compilation would be complete without Nancy Sinatra and axe-meisters Duane Eddy and Al Casey, with each of whom Lee was inextricably linked. They’re all here. Hazlewood mavens should lap up the titles by the Darlenes, the Hondas, Rose & the Heavenly Tones (produced by Sly Stone, no less) and Lee’s frequent collaborator Suzi Jane Hokom (who gets two collectable cuts, including a duet with him), each of which is new to CD.

One of pop’s genuine originals, Hazlewood is lionised by luminaries such as Primal Scream, Beck, the Jesus & Mary Chain, Pulp, Lydia Lunch and Sonic Youth. In 1999 he performed at the Nick Cave-curated Meltdown Festival on London’s South Bank backed by members of the High Llamas and Stereolab, while the “Total Lee!” tribute album of 2002 had the indie cognoscenti tripping over each other to record his compositions.

Hazlewood was a uniquely versatile songwriter, equally capable of turning his hand to pop, country, psychedelia, R&B, folk, easy listening, burlesque, blues or twangin’ rock’n’roll – dig Don Cole’s wild ‘Snake Eyed Mama’ and Al Casey & the Bats’ reverb-drenched ‘(Got The) Teenage Blues’. His songs are truly beyond categorisation.

He was also a pioneer in the mysterious art of record production and taught a thing or two to the teenaged Phil Spector, who hung around paying close attention while Hazlewood crafted magnificently cavernous guitar instrumentals for Duane Eddy. Of the 25 tracks on “Califia”, Lee wrote each one and produced all but four.

As a performer, Hazlewood possessed an instantly recognisable bass drawl perfectly suited to his lyrical tales of low-rent heartache, self-deprecating comedy, picturesque nostalgia and mystical cowboy psychedelia. He sings on four cuts on this collection, including the folksy Shacklefords’ recording of ‘The City Never Sleeps At Night’, a song written specifically for Nancy Sinatra.

As Dionne Warwick was to Burt Bacharach and Petula Clark to Tony Hatch, Nancy was Lee’s perfect muse. Theirs was a partnership created one velvet morning in pop heaven. The expansively orchestrated opening duet ‘Lady Bird’ – just one of the many masterpieces they made together – was personally selected for this compilation by the lady herself.

A companion volume of Lee Hazlewood-penned instrumentals is also in the Ace pipeline, so watch this space. Meanwhile, check out the others in our Songwriter series, which include compilations based on the works of Randy Newman, Jackie DeShannon, Neil Diamond, Goffin & King, Bo Diddley, Burt Bacharach and many more.

By Mick Patrick


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Lady Bird - Nancy Sinatra & Lee Hazlewood

  • 02 Preview Need All The Help I Can Get - Suzi Jane Hokom

  • 03 Preview Sweet Ride - Dusty Springfield

  • 04 Preview The Rebel Kind - Dino, Desi & Billy

  • 05 Preview The Fool - Sanford Clark with Al Casey

  • 06 Preview Have Love, Will Travel - The Sharps

  • 07 Preview Snake Eyed Mama - Don Cole

  • 08 Preview The Girl On Death Row - Lee Hazlewood with Duane Eddy & His Orchestra

  • 09 Preview The Dip - Hal Blaine & The Young Cougars

  • 10 Preview Houston - Sanford Clark

  • 11 Preview You Turned My Head Around - Ann-Margret

  • 12 Preview The City Never Sleeps At Night - The Shacklefords

  • 13 Preview Guitar On My Mind - Duane & Miriam Eddy

  • 14 Preview Califia (Stone Rider) - Lee Hazlewood & Suzi Jane Hokom

  • 15 Preview My Baby Plays That Same Old Song On His Guitar All Night Long - Duane Eddy & The Rebelettes

  • 16 Preview Twelve Feet High - The Hondas

  • 17 Preview (I'm Afraid) You'll Hurt Me - The Darlenes

  • 18 Preview These Boots Are Made For Walkin' - Rose & The Heavenly Tones

  • 19 Preview What Are We Gonna Do In '64? - The Wildcats

  • 20 Preview You Can't Stay Here - The Barker Brothers

  • 21 Preview Not The Lovin' Kind - Dino, Desi & Billy

  • 22 Preview (Got The) Teen-Age Blues - Al Casey & The Bats

  • 23 Preview Don't Look Now, But I've Got The Blues - B.B. King

  • 24 Preview Guitars, Guitars, Guitars - Al Casey with The K-C-Ettes

  • 25 Preview Das Ist Zauberei (And I Loved You Then) - Peggy March

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought