SON-OF-A-GUN And More From The LEE HAZLEWOOD Songbook Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1476

The songs of Lee Hazlewood performed by a panoply of international artists from the 1950s to the present day.

Lee Hazlewood – songwriter, singer, producer, independent record label entrepreneur, DJ, raconteur and self-proclaimed “ol’ grey-haired sonofabitch” – is a key figure in the history of modern popular music. Laced with lashings of dark wit, wrong-side-of-the-tracks heartbreak and esoteric imagery, his compositions have been recorded by everyone from Frank Sinatra to German industrialists Einstürzende Neubauten.
“Son-Of-A-Gun” is the third volume of Hazlewood’s compositions to be released in Ace’s renowned Songwriter series. The first, “Califia”, comprised recordings made in the 1950s and 60s, and the second, “Shazam!”, focused exclusively on instrumentals. While “Son-Of-Gun” features some performers whose recordings Hazlewood produced in his glory years, the collection consists primarily of interpretations by a diverse array of contemporary international artists who were inspired by his work from afar. 

Consequently, Sanford Clark’s title track shares disc space with Jarvis Cocker and Richard Hawley’s menacing revival of ‘A Cheat’ from 2002, a song first recorded by Clark 46 years earlier; Waylon Jennings’ ‘She Comes Running’, from his Hazlewood-produced “Singer Of Sad Songs” album, rubs shoulders with ‘These Boots Are Made For Walking’ by Australian punks the Boys Next Door (Nick Cave’s first band); and Ville Valo and Natalia Avelon’s sumptuous 2007 version of ‘Summer Wine’ appears alongside Loy Clingman’s sinister ‘The Man Who Made An Angel Cry’, a Lee Hazlewood production from 1957. All in all, a dynamic and eclectic listen, held together by Hazlewood’s skill as a songwriter.

The booklet, a fully illustrated 24-pager, features exclusive interviews with many of the featured artists, including Richard Hawley, Primal Scream’s Bobby Gillespie, Jim Reid of the Jesus & Mary Chain and Mick Harvey.

Ian Johnston and Mick Patrick


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview A Cheat - Jarvis Cocker & Richard Hawley

  • 02 Preview Some Velvet Morning - Primal Scream with Kate Moss

  • 03 Preview Long Black Train - Thriftstore Masterpiece featuring Frank Black

  • 04 Preview My Autumn's Done Come - Mark Morriss

  • 05 Preview Won't You Tell Your Dreams - Gold Leaves

  • 06 Preview Paris Summer - Frances Ruffelle with Rowan John

  • 07 Preview For One Moment - Marc Almond & The Willing Sinners

  • 08 Preview I'd Rather Be Your Enemy - Boyd Rice & Friends

  • 09 Preview Summer Wine - Ville Valo & Natalia Avelon

  • 10 Preview No Train To Stockholm - Dan Michaelson & The Coastguards

  • 11 Preview She Comes Running - Waylon Jennings

  • 12 Preview First Street Blues - Mick Harvey

  • 13 Preview I'm Glad I Never - The Jesus & Mary Chain

  • 14 Preview The Man Who Made An Angel Cry - Loy Clingman

  • 15 Preview Leather And Lace - L.Stadt Featuring Ania Dabrowska`

  • 16 Preview Lady Bird - Virgil Warner & Suzi Jane Hokom

  • 17 Preview Son-Of-A-Gun - Sanford Clark

  • 18 Preview Friday's Child - Billie Dearborn

  • 19 Preview You Turned My Head Around - Dean & Britta

  • 20 Preview Look At That Woman - Gallon Drunk with Ian Johnston

  • 21 Preview These Boots Are Made For Walking - The Boys Next Door

  • 22 Preview Sand - Holly Golightly with Brian Nevill

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought