More From The Other Side Of The Trax - Stax-Volt 45rpm Rarities 1960-1968 Various Artists (Stax)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
More From The Other Side Of The Trax - Stax-Volt 45rpm Rarities 1960-1968 (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

Two dozen rare B-sides from Stax Records’ “blue” period, many reissued for the first time.

An enormous and impressive undertaking, “The Complete Stax-Volt Singles 1959-68” box set was issued in 1991. While pleased with its content, hardcore collectors were nevertheless disappointed that it was not as “complete” as it claimed to be, as it featured all the A-sides and only selected B-sides. While highly welcome, its release left more than 100 of approximately 225 “blue period” Stax and Volt B-sides un-reissued in any form. Several of those sides have since featured on CD compilations, either as individual tracks here and there or on Kent’s recent “The Other Side Of The Trax”, but that still left many awaiting reissue. Fortunately, the success of “The Other Side Of The Trax” has warranted this second volume. The 24 tracks here span almost the whole of Stax Records’ blue period, as far back as when the label was still called Satellite.

The release of this CD coincides with the 50th anniversary of the Hit The Road Stax tour of the UK and Europe, which offered a gathering of almost all the company’s biggest selling artists. It was not the first time Stax acts had been to the UK, nor would it be the last for some of them. Neither was it the first time a collection of artists from a major US soul and R&B label had visited our shores. Motown had celebrated its UK launch as a stand-alone label with a package tour that went all round the country and into Europe two years previously, but the shows were poorly attended. Soul music was still largely the domain of a devoted few and not yet big enough to sustain something so ambitious. The world outside of North America was just not ready. By the time of the Stax tour, everyone was ready. It played to packed houses, drew ecstatic responses and brought European popularity to almost everyone who was a part of the tour.

Most of the tracks here are completely representative of the sound of Stax half a century ago. That they were chosen as B-sides is no reflection on their quality. Records had two sides back then, and something always had to go on the flipside. Where Stax was concerned, their flips were almost always as good as their plug-sides. Here’s the proof. 

Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I Don't Want Trouble - Barbara & The Browns

  • 02 Preview What'Cha Gonna Do - William Bell

  • 03 Preview Fine And Mellow - Rufus Thomas

  • 04 Preview Grab This Thing Pt 2 - The Mar-Keys

  • 05 Preview You Make A Strong Girl Weak - The Premiers

  • 06 Preview The Puppet - Carla Thomas

  • 07 Preview All Night Worker - Rufus Thomas

  • 08 Preview Good Love, Bad Love - Eddie Floyd

  • 09 Preview I Don't Worry - Barbara Stephens

  • 10 Preview Deep Down Inside - Carla & Rufus

  • 11 Preview Don't Make Something Out Of Nothing - William Bell

  • 12 Preview The Dribble - The Mar-Keys

  • 13 Preview It's Starting To Grow - Carla Thomas

  • 14 Preview Talkin' Bout True Love - Rufus Thomas

  • 15 Preview One Plus One - William Bell

  • 16 Preview Never Let You Go - Rufus & Carla Thomas

  • 17 Preview Reputation - The Four Shells

  • 18 Preview Mini-Skirt Minnie (Instrumental) - Sir Mack Rice

  • 19 Preview Greasy Spoon - Rufus Thomas

  • 20 Preview I Want You Back - Carla Thomas

  • 21 Preview The Shovel - The Mar-Keys

  • 22 Preview I'm Waiting On You - William Bell

  • 23 Preview Raw Dough - The Triumphs

  • 24 Preview Don't Let The Love Light Leave - Carla Thomas

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought