Saint Etienne Present Songs For The Carnegie Deli Various Artists (Saint Etienne)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1467

A collection of sounds as big as the Chrysler, with the warmth of soft booth seating and the sweet melancholy of slightly peeling leatherette. Pancakes and coffee, maple syrup on the side, are the perfect accompaniment to this set from the golden Brill Building age of New York pop, compiled by Saint Etienne’s Bob Stanley and Pete Wiggs.

When I first visited New York in 1991, there were two things I absolutely had to do. One was to see the Brill Building, the place that had spawned so much music I loved. The other was to visit a proper New York diner. An old friend, a grizzled industry man called Jerry Jaffe, took us to the Carnegie Deli, the setting for much of Woody Allen’s Broadway Danny Rose. I ordered a burger, which was huge, and picked it up. “I wouldn’t do that if I were you,” growled Jerry, “I’d use a knife and fork.” I ignored him, boiling juices ran over my fingers, and I dropped it back on the plate. Over coffee he called me a “fucking idiot” for pronouncing Laura Nyro as if it rhymed with Biro. I was in New York. It was exactly what I’d hoped for.

For me, these were the ingredients of the classic diner, the kind I’d seen in everything from Rosemary’s Baby to Rhoda: aluminium, stainless steel, vinyl booths, veteran waiters, neon signage and a counter with screwed-down leatherette stools. On the wall, framed photos of random celebrities: Al Martino, Steve Martin, maybe Lesley Gore. On the menu, matzo ball soup, stuffed cabbage, homemade chicken soup. On the table, a cup and saucer which magically fills with coffee before you’ve finished it. Walking around, I marvelled at the single-storey diners – with nothing but air conditioning units on the roof – sat right alongside skyscrapers. With the area’s unreal property prices and freshly discovered “air rights”, these places are now scarce. Like the London café, the Manhattan diner is an endangered species. Like the yellow cab, the diner made New York City look like New York City.

I had an image in my head of how New York diners had to look. So how should they sound? Well, that’s in the ear of the native or the visitor. This collection opens with the sound of the city at dusk, a finger-snapper from a bunch of sessioneers found on the flip of Frankie Valli’s ‘(You’re Gonna) Hurt Yourself’ in 1966. It ends with the sun coming up through the steamed-up window of the 24-hour diner, the sound of a new day from the Tradewinds: ‘New York’s A Lonely Town’ they’d sung in ’65; ‘Catch Me In The Meadow’ from two years later reflected the break for West Coast sunshine and space that so many of the Broadway songwriters were starting to make as the Brill Building era closed.

Bob Stanley


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Night Hawk - The Valli Boys

  • 02 Preview Live Again - Irma Thomas

  • 03 Preview I Deserve It - Samantha Jones

  • 04 Preview I'm Your Man - Chuck Jackson

  • 05 Preview Summer's Comin' In - Little Anthony & The Imperials

  • 06 Preview Park Avenue - Lou Johnson

  • 07 Preview Don't - Marva Josie

  • 08 Preview If It's For Real Baby - Porgy & The Monarchs

  • 09 Preview Up On The Bridge - The Chiffons

  • 10 Preview Love (It's Getting Better) - The Groove

  • 11 Preview Run My Heart - Baby Washington

  • 12 Preview Where Do I Go From Here - Junior Lewis

  • 13 Preview Tomorrow - Jay & The Americans

  • 14 Preview Lover's Melody - Dawn

  • 15 Preview Drown My Heart - David Coleman

  • 16 Preview Boy You Move Me - Joan Moody

  • 17 Preview Deep Dark Secret - Dee Dee Sharp

  • 18 Preview I'm Fallin' Down - Lesley Gore

  • 19 Preview Shades Of Blue - The Shirelles

  • 20 Preview Let's Stop Fooling Ourselves - Eddie Jones

  • 21 Preview Is This The Way To Treat A Girl (You Bet It Is) - The Hesitations

  • 22 Preview He's A Lover - Tutti Hill

  • 23 Preview How Can I Be Sure (That It's Love) - Gloria Dennis

  • 24 Preview Catch Me In The Meadow - The Tradewinds

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Exceptionally good ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought