King Rock 'n' Roll Vol 2 Various Artists (King)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1051

The King catalogue is like the gift that keeps on giving no matter how many fantastic compilations result from its vast repertoire, there never seems to be any shortage of ideas, around the Ace A&R brains trust, for more fabulous packages to complement those already in the company catalogue. Our tape copying trips to King's Nashville HQ continue to give us plenty of permutations of the label's great recordings with which to entertain you and this month we have two more goodies that will leave you happy in heart, if a little empty in pocket.

"King Rock'n'Roll" brings to CD some of the best up-tempo rockers'n'jivers released on King, or its subsidiary labels Federal and DeLuxe, during the second half of the 1950s and the (very) early 60s.

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Rockin' Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu - Roy Milton & Mickey Champion

  • 02 Preview Let's Do The Stroll - Donnie Elbert

  • 03 Preview Itchy Twitchy Feeling - The Swallows

  • 04 Preview Sugaree - Hank Ballard & The Midnighters

  • 05 Preview Davy, You Upset My Home - Joe Tex

  • 06 Preview Have Mercy Baby - Titus Turner

  • 07 Preview Don't Wake Up The Kids - Otis Williams & The Charms

  • 08 Preview So Good, So Fine, You're Mine - Roy And Gloria

  • 09 Preview Leave My Kitten Alone - Little Willie John

  • 10 Preview Daddy Rolling Stone - Hank Ballard & The Midnighters

  • 11 Preview Walkin' With Mr Lee - Johnny Pate & His Orchestra

  • 12 Preview Return Of Stagolee - Titus Turner

  • 13 Preview Honky Tonk - Bill Doggett (Vocal by Tommy Brown)

  • 14 Preview Leona - Donnie Elbert

  • 15 Preview Love Is Strange - Luther & Little Eva

  • 16 Preview She's Mine - Joe Tex

  • 17 Preview Two Hearts - Otis Williams & His Charms

  • 18 Preview Red River Valley Rock - Gene Redd & The Globe Trotters

  • 19 Preview Dance With Me Georgie - The Bobbettes

  • 20 Preview Believe It Or Not - Donnie Elbert

  • 21 Preview Ko Ko Mo (I Love You So) - The Charms

  • 22 Preview Honky Tonk #3 - Bill Doggett

  • 23 Preview Let's Rock While The Rockin's Good - Little Willie John

  • 24 Preview Broadway - Hank Ballard & The Midnighters

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought