The Daisy Age Various Artists (Saint Etienne)


Hip Hop
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
XXQLP2 062

This product is also available in these versions:
The Daisy Age, CD (£11.50)

It wasn’t really a movement, barely even a moment, but the Daisy Age was an ethos that permeated pop, R&B and hip hop at the turn of the 90s. Playfulness and good humour were central to De La Soul’s 1989 debut album, “3 Feet High And Rising”, which would go on to cast a long, multi-coloured shadow over rap.

In Britain, the timing for “3 Feet High And Rising” couldn’t have been better. The acid house explosion of 1988 would lead to a radical breaking down of musical barriers in 1989, and its associated look – loose clothing, dayglo colours, smiley faces – chimed with the positivity of De La Soul and rising New York rap acts the Jungle Brothers and A Tribe Called Quest, all at the heart of a growing collective called Native Tongues.

The Native Tongues’ charismatic, summery aura quickly spread west to the Bay Area’s similarly-minded Hieroglyphics crew (Del Tha Funky Homosapien’s ‘Mistadobalina’); Canada’s Dream Warriors (‘My Definition Of A Boombastic Jazz Style’) used “3 Feet High”’s colour palette and borrowed Count Basie and Quincy Jones riffs; Naughty By Nature (OPP) were mentored by Native Tongues heroine Queen Latifah, while Londoner Monie Love was also adopted by the collective, resulting in her Grammy-nominated ‘It’s A Shame (My Sister)’.

It wasn’t built to last, but the Daisy Age reintroduced Multiplication Rock, bubble writing and the gently psychedelic into the charts. It was a brief, but extraordinarily warm and optimistic moment. The songs on this collection promised that the 90s would be a lot more easy-going than the 80s.

Available on CD and double LP. Rough Trade will have a limited edition yellow vinyl release of this set, full details to follow.

Photographs of the Native Tongues posse © Janette Beckman.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview A Roller Skating Jam Named Saturdays - De La Soul Featuring Q-Tip & Vinia Mojica

  • 02 Preview Bonita Applebum - A Tribe Called Quest

  • 03 Preview Sunshine Men - The Freestyle Fellowship

  • 04 Preview Mistadobalina - Del Tha Funkeé Homosapien

  • 05 Preview What's Up Doc? (Can We Rock?) (K-Cut's Fat Trac Remix) - Fu-Schnickens With Shaquille O'Neal

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Doowutchyalike - Digital Underground

  • 02 Preview Peachfuzz - KMD

  • 03 Preview Doin' Our Own Dang - Jungle Brothers

  • 04 Preview Mama Gave Birth To The Soul Children - Queen Latifah Featuring De La Soul

  • 05 Preview O.P.P. - Naughty By Nature

Side 3

  • 01 Preview Where I'm From - Digable Planets

  • 02 Preview It's A Shame (My Sister) - Monie Love Featuring True Image

  • 03 Preview K Sera Sera - Justin Warfield

  • 04 Preview All For One - Brand Nubian

  • 05 Preview Case Of The P.T.A. - Leaders Of The New School

Side 4

  • 01 Preview My Definition Of A Boombastic Jazz Style - Dream Warriors

  • 02 Preview The Choice Is Yours - Black Sheep

  • 03 Preview Age Ain't Nothin' But A # - Chi-Ali

  • 04 Preview We Run Things (It's Like Dat) - Da Bush Babees

  • 05 Preview You're Not Coming Home (Mase's Funkay Recall Mix) - Groove Garden

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought