Golden Age Of American R'n'R V11 Various Artists (Golden Age Of American Rock and Roll)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1200

This is a low-key launch for what is a big moment in the Ace schedules – the arrival of a new edition of the near legendary “Golden Age of American Rock’n’Roll”, a series which collectively tells the story in sound and vision (well words, actually) of the greatest moments in the chart history of early rock’n’roll.

We know from our mailbox that a great many of you are suffering from mild to serious withdrawal symptoms brought on by a lack of a regular “Golden Age” fix but one might argue that this has made the wait - or the suffering - even more worthwhile.

Weighed down by the burden of expectation, Trevor Churchill and I were so strict in maintaining our exacting criteria, that it has taken even longer than usual to prepare another volume.

One immediately notices the astonishing audio quality. Even if you already have a couple or more of the songs on other CDs, it is unlikely that you will have heard them sounding quite this good, a classic example being the opening tune, LaVern Baker’s Jim Dandy which thumps out of the speakers with age belying power.

As always, several tunes appear here on a legal CD for the first time, among them the intoxicating Miss Fine by the New Yorkers (actually the 5 Satins in disguise), Last Chance by Collay & the Satellites, White Bucks And Saddle Shoes by Bobby Pedrick Jr, Mathilda by Cookie & his Cupcakes, Chills And Fever by Ronnie Love and Bobby Comstock’s rather engaging take on Tennessee Waltz. We have gone to great lengths to track down master tapes where others would have long given up…

As a sidebar, we ought to mention that the version of Peanut Butter by the Marathons heard here is the Argo re-record rather than the more common Arvee version (a lawsuit meant that two marginally different versions of this hit were marketed at the same time). The Argo re-cut has never been issued on CD before and you’ll have fun trying to hear the difference. Co-compiler Trevor Churchill succeeded in pinning down the correct version only after painstakingly sifting through a confusing number of options with his usual algebraic precision. He noted “variations in the vocal inflections” while I detected “differences in the shimmying of the tambourine”. Well, blow me, can the rest of us now get on with our lives.

The accompanying booklet, bulging with anecdotes, historical facts and beautifying illustrations, feels reassuringly weighty. The cover is gorgeous. It’s business as usual.

Feast yourselves.

By Rob Finnis


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Jim Dandy - LaVern Baker & the Gliders

  • 02 Preview Ruby Baby - Dion

  • 03 Preview White Bucks And Saddle Shoes - Bobby Pedrick Jr

  • 04 Preview Transfusion - Nervous Norvus

  • 05 Preview Lavender Blue - Sammy Turner

  • 06 Preview (You're The) Apple Of My Eye - The Four Lovers

  • 07 Preview Mathilda - Cookie & his Cupcakes

  • 08 Preview Henrietta - Jimmy Dee & the Offbeats

  • 09 Preview One Track Mind - Bobby Lewis

  • 10 Preview I Need Your Lovin' - Conway Twitty

  • 11 Preview Tennessee Waltz - Bobby Comstock & the Counts

  • 12 Preview Love Is Strange - Mickey & Sylvia

  • 13 Preview Pretend - Carl Mann

  • 14 Preview Drip Drop - The Drifters

  • 15 Preview Chills And Fever - Ronnie Love

  • 16 Preview Let The Good Times Roll - Shirley & Lee

  • 17 Preview Miss Fine - The New Yorkers

  • 18 Preview I'm Stickin' With You - Jimmy Bowen with the Rhythm Orchids

  • 19 Preview Breaking Up Is Hard To Do - Jivin' Gene & the Jokers

  • 20 Preview Goodbye Baby - Jack Scott

  • 21 Preview This Little Girl's Gone Rockin' - Ruth Brown

  • 22 Preview Last Chance - Collay & the Satellites

  • 23 Preview Record Hop Blues - The Quarter Notes

  • 24 Preview Without Love (There Is Nothing) - Clyde McPhatter

  • 25 Preview Village Of Love - Nathaniel Mayer & the Fabulous Twilights

  • 26 Preview Fabulous - Charlie Gracie

  • 27 Preview Peanut Butter - Vibrations Named by Others As Marathons

  • 28 Preview Smokey Joe's Café - The Robins

  • 29 Preview Come On Over - The Strollers

  • 30 Preview Finger Poppin' Time - Hank Ballard & the Midnighters

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought