Radio Gold Vol 3 Various Artists (Radio Gold)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

It's very difficult to relate to current radio audiences just how really awful public radio pop broadcasting was prior to 1967 (and the advent of Radio One). True, there was the odd musical oasis (Brian Matthew's Saturday Club, for instance) but, generally, youth radio did not exist at the BBC. Instead, the source for all the new youth sounds was Radio Luxembourg and, in the 60s, pirate stations like Radios Caroline and London. These stations not only paved the way for youth programming nationally via the BBC, they also created a public thirst for commercial radio."Radio Gold 3" is the third volume in Ace Records' acclaimed and much airplayed series of classic airwave hits. It ranges confidentially across the various rock'n'roll, R&B, soul and pop genres in the manner of those early commercial shows. Consequently, the blissful soul singing of Jerry Butler on Make It Easy On Yourself (covered later by The Walker Brothers) is followed by Betty Everett's girls talk hit It's In His Kiss (The Shoop Shoop Song), and Chas McDevitt & Nancy Whiskey's skiffle favourite Freight Train follows Johnny Mathis' tenderly rendered ballad The Twelfth Of Never. Tough little rockers like Brenda Lee's Sweet Nothin's and Smiley Lewis' New Orleans R&B grinder I Hear You Knockin' are nicely counterbalanced by such novelties as Paul Evans & The Curls' Seven Little Girls Sitting In The Back Seat. 30 wonderful sides and another essential slice of music radio history.
Trivia: Chas McDevitt & Nancy Whiskey 's Freight Train was an even bigger hit in America than it was in Britain and, unusual for the era, it was a British recording.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Love Is Strange - Mickey & Sylvia

  • 02 Preview Willie And The Hand Jive aka The Johnny Otis Hand Jive - The Johnny Otis Show. Vocal by Johnny Otis

  • 03 Preview Sweet Nothin's - Brenda Lee

  • 04 Preview I'm In Love Again - Fats Domino

  • 05 Preview Star Dust - Billy Ward And The Dominos

  • 06 Preview Chanson D'Amour - Art & Dotty Todd

  • 07 Preview I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter - Billy Williams

  • 08 Preview Susie Darlin' - Robin Luke

  • 09 Preview The Lion Sleeps Tonight - The Tokens

  • 10 Preview Make It Easy On Yourself - Jerry Butler

  • 11 Preview It's In His Kiss - Betty Everett

  • 12 Preview Halfway To Paradise - Tony Orlando

  • 13 Preview That'll Be The Day - The Crickets

  • 14 Preview Only The Lonely - Roy Orbison

  • 15 Preview When - Kalin Twins

  • 16 Preview A White Sport Coat - Marty Robbins

  • 17 Preview On The Rebound - Floyd Cramer

  • 18 Preview Day-O (Banana Boat Song) - Harry Belafonte

  • 19 Preview Singing The Blues - Guy Mitchell

  • 20 Preview The Twelfth Of Never - Johnny Mathis

  • 21 Preview Freight Train - Chas McDevitt & Nancy Whiskey

  • 22 Preview Big Man - The Four Preps

  • 23 Preview At The Hop - Danny And The Juniors

  • 24 Preview Just Walking In The Rain - Johnnie Ray

  • 25 Preview The Garden Of Eden - Joe Valino

  • 26 Preview The Green Door - Jim Lowe

  • 27 Preview I Hear You Knocking - Smiley Lewis

  • 28 Preview Seven Little Girls Sitting In The Back Seat - Paul Evans And The Curls

  • 29 Preview Witch Doctor - David Seville

  • 30 Preview I Go Ape - Neil Sedaka

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes




Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought