Radio Gold Vol 4 Various Artists (Radio Gold)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

It's been a while since the last volume of this popular (and populist) series came out and to all intents and purposes, this sparkling, new instalment constitutes something of a re-launch masterminded by the team behind our "Golden Age Of American Rock'n'Roll" line, Rob Finnis and John Broven, (Ace's very own Batman and Robin, though we're never sure who is who), with Trevor Churchill, who normally plays the role of Gotham City's police commissioner, keeping a watchful eye in the background.

In fact, it has virtually had the same attention to detail lavished upon it as "The Golden Age", and differs from that series, only in the slant of its contents which veer towards the international radio favourites of yesteryear, songs that have become standards either in their original form (as is mostly the case here), or as cover versions - for example, Jackie De Shannon's original Needles And Pins was only a minor hit in 1963 but an international smash when covered by the Searchers in 1964. It is De Shannon's fab original, which is heard here. Similarly, Lover Please, a US hit for Clyde McPhatter, was eclipsed in the UK by the Vernons Girls' scouse-accented version but it is the McPhatter cut which appears on this CD.

Chuck Berry's Promised Land is another early rock standard, which makes the line-up. Elvis' version and even Johnnie Allan's, come to mind more readily today than Berry's original Top 40 hit of 1964. The Contours' original of Do You Love Me was overshadowed by a spate of UK cover versions during the early days of the beat boom, none of which came close to matching its frenetic energy.

Summertime Blues, Blueberry Hill, Because They're Young, Up On The Roof, Shout!, I Put A Spell On You, Remember Then, The Story Of My classic follows another in a relentless whirl of memory-invoking nostalgia. But rather than take our word for it, simply check out the goodies in the adjacent track listing and bear in mind that the visuals are as enticing as the music in what is becoming a popular companion line to the "Golden Age Of American Rock 'n' Roll".

By Crawford Anderson


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Do You Love Me - The Contours

  • 02 Preview Up On The Roof - The Drifters

  • 03 Preview The Promised Land - Chuck Berry

  • 04 Preview A Teenager In Love - Dion & The Belmonts

  • 05 Preview Because They're Young - Duane Eddy

  • 06 Preview Blueberry Hill - Fats Domino

  • 07 Preview Buona Sera - Louis Prima

  • 08 Preview All I Have To Do Is Dream - The Everly Brothers

  • 09 Preview Tweedlee Dee - LaVern Baker

  • 10 Preview I Put A Spell On You - Screamin' Jay Hawkins

  • 11 Preview Summertime Blues - Eddie Cochran

  • 12 Preview Young Love - Sonny James

  • 13 Preview Remember Then - The Earls

  • 14 Preview Bluebirds Over The Mountain - Ersel Hickey

  • 15 Preview Needles And Pins - Jackie DeShannon

  • 16 Preview A Hundred Pounds Of Clay - Gene McDaniels

  • 17 Preview Deep Purple - Billy Ward & His Dominoes

  • 18 Preview You Got What It Takes - Marv Johnson

  • 19 Preview Baby I'm Yours - Barbara Lewis

  • 20 Preview Moon River - Jerry Butler

  • 21 Preview It'll Be Me - Jerry Lee Lewis

  • 22 Preview The Battle Of New Orleans - Johnny Horton

  • 23 Preview The Story Of My Life - Marty Robbins

  • 24 Preview Last Date - Floyd Cramer

  • 25 Preview Oh No, Not My Baby - Maxine Brown

  • 26 Preview Lover Please - Clyde McPhatter

  • 27 Preview Memories Are Made Of This - Dean Martin

  • 28 Preview Splish Splash - Bobby Darin

  • 29 Preview Cry To Me - Betty Harris

  • 30 Preview Shout Pt 1 - The Isley Brothers

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought