Vamps Et Vampire: The Songs Of Serge Gainsbourg Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1389

This latest edition in our Songwriter series spotlights Serge Gainsbourg, one of the greatest icons of Gallic pop culture. “The image of beauty and the beast, the Rive Gauche provocateur arm-in-arm with the ravishing icon, was a recurring feature of Gainsbourg’s career,” once observed Malcolm McLaren, a man not unfamiliar with the power of provocation. Spanning the entire Gainsbourg canon, our collection ranges from existential chanson to yé-yé and beyond – performed, appropriately, by a stellar all-female cast.

Had Gainsbourg got his way, Marisa Berenson would have become his co-star in Slogan. Fortunately for him, Jane Birkin landed the role. After some frosty early encounters, they soon became inseparable. Reluctant at first, Jane agreed to record what became Gainsbourg’s biggest-ever hit. It was B-sided by ‘Jane B’, conspicuous for a lyric lifted from her passport and a melody mooched from Chopin. Also here is the pun-laden ‘Con C’est Con Ces Conséquences’ from “Baby Alone In Babylone”, the fifth of the seven albums to emanate from their partnership.

Jane Birkin aside, the performer with the most Gainsbourg songs in their catalogue is Zizi Jeanmaire. Many of those songs were written specifically for her stage shows, notably the 1972 production Zizi Je T’Aime. ‘Vamp Et Vampire’, our title track, is from “Bobino”, a 1977 album comprising almost entirely Gainsbourg compositions.

His long-term relationship with Jane notwithstanding, Gainsbourg’s highest profile liaison was with Brigitte Bardot. They became an item during the sessions for 1968’s Le Brigitte Bardot Show TV special, represented here by ‘Harley Davidson’ and ‘Contact’.

From his earliest days as a jobbing musician Gainsbourg hankered for his songs to be performed by Juliette Gréco, the black-garbed embodiment of bohemian Gallic cool. She eventually recorded many. ‘La Javanaise’ and ‘Strip-Tease’, featured here, are from her eighth album, issued in 1963.

Prior to France Gall recording Gainsbourg’s songs his name had not featured on a big hit record. They might come across as cute yé-yé trifles, but ‘Poupée De Cire, Poupée De Son’ and ‘Les Sucettes’ are custom-penned songs threaded with typical Gainsbourg wordplay and double meanings.

‘L’Anamour’ and ‘Comment Te Dire Adieu’ are the earliest of the six Gainsbourg songs in the vast catalogue of Françoise Hardy. ‘Comment Te Dire Adieu’ was first recorded by veteran American singer Margaret Whiting as ‘It Hurts To Say Goodbye’ but it was the hipper instrumental version that attracted Françoise. Her manager suggested asking Gainsbourg to write a French lyric, which he duly dictated over the phone to Françoise while she was staying at the Savoy in London.

The CD closes with ‘Laisse Tomber Les Filles’ by April March, one of the most ardent latterday champions of Gainsbourg, whose songs are paramount in her early discography. Some she recorded in both their original French and with her own English lyrics. ‘Laisse Tomber Les Filles’ thus became ‘Chick Habit’, as which it reached a mass audience in the soundtrack of Quentin Tarantino’s Death Proof.

In addition to the customary track commentary, the 24-page booklet features a fascinating essay by Gainsbourg biographer Alan Clayson and a foreword by April March. 

By Mick Patrick


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Harley - Davidson - Brigitte Bardot

  • 02 Preview Comment Te Dire Adieu - Françoise Hardy

  • 03 Preview Poupée De Cire, Poupée De Son - France Gall

  • 04 Preview Les Yeux Pour Pleurer - Nana Mouskouri

  • 05 Preview La Chanson De Prévert - Vicky Autier

  • 06 Preview La Javanaise - Juliette Gréco

  • 07 Preview Baudelaire - Catherine Sauvage

  • 08 Preview Strip-Tease - Juliette Gréco

  • 09 Preview Pour Aimer Il Faut Etre Trois - Isabelle Aubret

  • 10 Preview Les Sucettes - France Gall

  • 11 Preview Non, A Tous Les Garçons - Michèle Torr

  • 12 Preview Hier Ou Demain - Marianne Faithfull

  • 13 Preview Sous Le Soleil Exactement - Anna Karina

  • 14 Preview Jane B - Jane Birkin

  • 15 Preview Rêves Et Caravelles - Michèle Arnaud

  • 16 Preview L'Anamour - Françoise Hardy

  • 17 Preview Contact - Brigitte Bardot

  • 18 Preview Con C'est Con Ces Consequénces - Jane Birkin

  • 19 Preview Elastique - Charlotte Gainsbourg

  • 20 Preview Lulu - Bambou

  • 21 Preview Pull Marine - Isabelle Adjani

  • 22 Preview Vamp Et Vampire - Zizi Jeanmaire

  • 23 Preview Overseas Telegram - Catherine Deneuve

  • 24 Preview Tandem - Vanessa Paradis

  • 25 Preview Laisse Tomber Les Filles - April March

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Powerful remastering, gatefold sleeve, iconic status, a must-buy. (Vinyl Package Of The Month)


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought