Modern Vocal Groups Vol 4 Various Artists (Kent/ Modern)


Doo Wop
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Modern Vocal Groups Vol 4 (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

So what was Paul Anka's first record? Well some of you knowledgeable vocal group enthusiasts out there will know that far from being Diana, Paul's first record was actually an outing on Modern's RPM label. Allegedly financed by his father, I Confess coupled with the easy-to-pronounce Blau-Wile-De-Veest-Fontaine was released in late 1956 with both sides having vocal group accompaniment. Not only that, but Modern actually released an album in 1959, entitled Paul Anka & Others, on its Riviera subsidiary label!

Both of these tunes (and a shot of the rare album sleeve), as well as more than 20 other doo-wop releases from the same stable are to be found on Modern Vocal Groups Vol 4, the latest chapter in our comprehensive survey of the Modern vocal group sound. Compiled and annotated as usual by Gordon Skadberg of Early Bird Records, this volume concentrates on the golden era of the vocal group sound (1954-56) and has the usual mixture of successful releases and rarities. Amongst the hits featured this time are the well known novelty item Stranded In The Jungle by the Cadets, Girl in My Dreams by the Cliques (who were actually Jesse Belvin and Eugene Church singing together) and Jesse (with group backing) doing his famous Goodnight My Love

On the rare side, we have Buddy Milton and the Twilighters doing Please Understand and Say Another Word (the RPM 418 single is currently valued at $350 in the best known price guide) and the Trojans coupling of As Long As I Have You/I Wanna Make Love To You on RPM 446. The Trojans had their recording supervised by Ike Turner and his connection probably accounts for its current $300 price tag. Other comparative rarities include the Sounds and the Honey Boys doing both sides of their Modern singles.

As a balance to the male vocal group sound, we always try and include some of the female group sounds or a male backing group with female lead and this volume is no exception. The respected Shirley Gunter is featured on a couple of tracks with the Flairs backing her. Another mixed sound comes from the female-led Poka-Dotts with male backing on their one and only Modern single. Another artist featured here at the outset of their career is Clydie King. Later a successful solo singer as well as duetting with Jimmy Holiday, she was a member of the Raeletts and of the group Brown Sugar. Clydie is featured on this CD as the lead of Little Clydie & the Teens doing their cover of the well-known girl group tune A Casual Look.

By Peter Gibbon


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Church Bells May Ring - The Cadets

  • 02 Preview Oh Me - Little Clydie & Teens

  • 03 Preview I Just Got Rid Of A Heartache - Shirley Gunter & the Flairs

  • 04 Preview I Wanna Make Love To You - The Trojans

  • 05 Preview The Girl In My Dreams - The Cliques

  • 06 Preview Cold Chills - The Sounds

  • 07 Preview I Confess - Paul Anka & Group

  • 08 Preview This Empty Heart - The Jacks

  • 09 Preview A Ting A Ling - The Poka-Dotts

  • 10 Preview Never Lose Faith In Me - The Honey Boys

  • 11 Preview A Casual Look - Little Clydie & The Teens

  • 12 Preview As Long As I Have You - The Trojans

  • 13 Preview I Want You - Shirley Gunter & the Flairs

  • 14 Preview Please Understand - Buddy Milton & the Twilighters

  • 15 Preview Stranded In The Jungle - The Cadets

  • 16 Preview Vippity Vop - The Honey Boys

  • 17 Preview Stairway To Love - The Poka-Dotts

  • 18 Preview Wait For Me - Richard Berry with the Dreamers

  • 19 Preview Say Another Word - Buddy Milton & the Twilighters

  • 20 Preview Sneakin' Around - B.B. King

  • 21 Preview Let Me Know - Marvin & Johnny

  • 22 Preview Blau-Wile-Deveest-Fontaine - Paul Anka & Group

  • 23 Preview So Unnecessary - The Sounds

  • 24 Preview I'm Confessin' - The Jacks

  • 25 Preview Goodnight My Love - Jesse Belvin & Group

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


You can buy this CD with confidence.

Now Dig This

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought