Los Angeles Soul Volume 2 - Kent-Modern's Black Music Legacy 1963-1971 Various Artists (Kent/ Modern)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Los Angeles Soul Volume 2 - Kent-Modern's Black Music Legacy 1963-1972 (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

Authentic, occasionally obscure, but always groovy, West Coast soul. Southern blues abounds, while gospel and Motown’s influence are also present.

Here are 25 more tracks from the deep reserves of Kent/Modern 60s and early 70s soul. The selection is a thorough cross-section of the company’s favoured stylings – blues, funk, straight soul, jazz-tinged ballads and deep wailers along with a handful of appropriate soul dancers for those with a pulse.

Prolific performers such as Z.Z. Hill, Johnny Copeland and Clay Hammond are alongside one-off 45 artists like Jeanette Jones, Earl Foster and Chuck Walker. Walker’s little-known deep soul ballads open and close the compilation and there are stunning slow soul performances from Jimmy Bee and Venetta Fields. Blues meets soul with Larry Davis, Al King, Lowell Fulson and Millie Foster, whose version of ‘Rock Me Baby’ is sensual and previously unissued.

Moody, early soul dance tracks come from Bobby John and the Other Brothers, while uptempo offerings are sung by Z.Z. Hill, Vernon Garrett and Stacy Johnson. The newly discovered ‘Honey’ by Felice Taylor was penned by Steve Cook and Charles Tate of ‘Too Darn Soulful’ fame and gospel choir BPS Revolution contribute a terrific, largely unknown, mid-tempo LP track. Funkateers will undoubtedly dig the Rudy Love, Charles Taylor and Four Tees sides.

The compilation features the type of music that LA’s black record buyers wanted in the soul era. The Biharis undoubtedly knew their market.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I'll Be Standing By - Chuck Walker & The VIPs with Bobby McVay

  • 02 Preview At Last - Jimmy Bee

  • 03 Preview Hungry Children - Rudy Love & The Love Family

  • 04 Preview Mighty Clouds Of Joy - B P S Revolution

  • 05 Preview Honey - Felice Taylor

  • 06 Preview Slow And Easy - Vernon Garrett

  • 07 Preview Where She Att - Z.Z. Hill

  • 08 Preview Don't Believe Him - Stacy Johnson

  • 09 Preview Nobody But Me - The Other Brothers

  • 10 Preview Like I Do (Take 16) - Bobby John

  • 11 Preview Whole World Down On You - Larry Davis

  • 12 Preview It's Getting Late - Al King

  • 13 Preview Jodine - Earl Foster

  • 14 Preview Then I Found You - Rudy Love & The Love Family

  • 15 Preview The Good Side Of My Girl - Clay Hammond

  • 16 Preview The Thought Of You - Jeanette Jones

  • 17 Preview You're Still My Baby - Venetta Fields

  • 18 Preview Rock Me Baby - Millie Foster

  • 19 Preview What Is This World Coming To - Charles Taylor

  • 20 Preview What The Heck - Lowell Fulson

  • 21 Preview Funky Duck - Four Tees

  • 22 Preview I Need You (Alt take) - Arthur K Adams

  • 23 Preview Ghetto Child - Johnny Copeland & His Soul Agents

  • 24 Preview Peace Of Mind - Chuck Walker & The VIPs with Bobby McVay

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought