Unlock The Lock: The Kent Records Story Vol 1 Various Artists (Kent/ Modern)


Rhythm & Blues
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP2 1449

This product is also available in these versions:
Unlock The Lock: The Kent Records Story Vol 1 (MP3), MP3 (£15.98)

The first four years of the Bihari brothers’ last major imprint. 30 of the tracks or takes make their CD debut.

Following our recent 2CD overview of Flair’s R&B releases and two double CDs embracing the RPM label’s output, we’re temporarily skipping over the parent Modern label to turn a spotlight on Kent, which replaced the Bihari Brothers’ earlier imprints in 1958 and outlasted them by several years. “Unlock The Lock: The Kent Story, Volume 1” covers the first four years of the label’s life. The story is told, wherever possible, by previously unreissued material and previously unreleased alternate takes of familiar repertoire. Considerably more than half of what’s here falls into those categories.

Of the generous helping of B.B. King tracks included, most of them adds to his discography by means of alternate takes and mono single mixes that have not yet found their way onto an Ace CD. B.B. was the mainstay of the release schedule, from its incorporation through to the early 70s, but he was by no means all there was to Kent. There’s a wide variety on offer here – everything from doo wop and rockabilly to straight ahead R&B and proto soul. 

Although B.B. left Kent in late 1961 (save for the contractual obligation session in 1964 that brought him back to cut ‘Rock Me Baby’) the Biharis filled his position as their flagship artist with successful 45s by his peer Lowell Fulson and upcoming blues-tinged Texan soul man Arzell “Z.Z.” Hill. Hear them and many others in the not too distant future on “The Kent Records Story, Volume 2”.

Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Why Do Everything Happen To Me - B.B. King

  • 02 Preview All Of Me - Danny Boy

  • 03 Preview Hey Little Mama - The Barker Brothers (Monty and Fredy)

  • 04 Preview "Baby, Baby" Every Night - Etta James

  • 05 Preview Sweet Lovin' Honey - Don Cole

  • 06 Preview On My Way Back Home - Flash Terry & His Orchestra

  • 07 Preview Devil Doll - Lee Denson

  • 08 Preview Madness - Sonny Knight

  • 09 Preview Basis Of Rock'n' Roll (Take 1) - Van Robinson

  • 10 Preview Bye Bye Baby (Take 5) - Chuck "Tequila" Rio

  • 11 Preview That's My Baby - Artie Wilson

  • 12 Preview Dance The Thing - Floyd Dixon and his Orchestra

  • 13 Preview Please Accept My Love - B.B. King

  • 14 Preview Red Hot Rockin' Blues - Jesse James

  • 15 Preview If It Ain't One Thing - Betty And Dupree

  • 16 Preview You You You - Van Robinson

  • 17 Preview South's Gonna Rise Again - Jesse James

  • 18 Preview Worry Worry (Take 1) - B.B. King

  • 19 Preview The Ballad Of Stagger Lee - The Senders

  • 20 Preview The Thrill Is Gone (Take 1) - Hadda Brooks

  • 21 Preview The Fool - B.B. King

  • 22 Preview Everybody Needs To Know - The Senders

  • 23 Preview (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons - Jesse Belvin

  • 24 Preview Mean Ole Frisco (Take 2) - B.B. King

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Sweet Sixteen Pts 1 & 2 - B.B. King

  • 02 Preview Your Cheating Heart (Mono) - Jimmy Witherspoon

  • 03 Preview Unlock The Lock (Take 2) - Jimmy Nelson

  • 04 Preview Good Man Gone Bad (Mono) - B.B. King

  • 05 Preview Tomorrow Night (Overdubbed version) - Hadda Brooks

  • 06 Preview You Done Lost Your Good Thing Now (Take 4) - B.B. King

  • 07 Preview Diane - Charlie Owens & the Sensational Ink Spots

  • 08 Preview If Love Was Money - Tony Allen & the Wanderers

  • 09 Preview Bad Case Of Love (Take 1) - B.B. King

  • 10 Preview Texas Queen - Billy Ray

  • 11 Preview Dreamin' - Tony Allen & Group

  • 12 Preview Doing The Twist - Joe Houston

  • 13 Preview Get In The Car - Little Joe Hinton

  • 14 Preview Crazy Feeling aka Do Something Crazy - Etta James

  • 15 Preview The Whip Twist - Little Joe Hinton

  • 16 Preview Goodnight My Love - Pat Hunt

  • 17 Preview Do You Wanna Twist - Teddy Reynolds

  • 18 Preview Playboy - Billy Ray

  • 19 Preview Camel Caravan - The Classicals

  • 20 Preview Without You - Hal Davis

  • 21 Preview Love You Baby - Bobby "Blue" Bland (vocal) & Ike Turner And His Orchestra

  • 22 Preview The Wonder Of Love - The Newports

  • 23 Preview Maybe I'm Wrong - Bobby Sanders

  • 24 Preview Mashing The Popeye - B.B. King

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Excellent from start to finish ★★★★

Record Collector

Soulful essentials ★★★★


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought