This Love Was Real - LA Vocal Groups 1959-1964 Various Artists (Doo Wop Compilations)


Doo Wop
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1604

This product is also available in these versions:
This Love Was Real - LA Vocal Groups 1959-1964 (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

Classic vocal group harmony from the later years of doo wop, including rare master tapes from the studios of Gary Paxton, George Motola, Kent Harris and Lew Bedell’s Doré label. Featuring previously unheard songs and extensive sleeve notes from LA vocal group expert Steve Propes.

We explore the later years of Los Angeles’ doo wop scene from sources that have never previously been digitalised from master tape. We have found master tapes of very rare and expensive doo wop recordings in the vaults of Doré, Era, Gary Paxton, Kent Harris and George Motola in particular. Most of these great tracks have only previously been heard on badly reproduced bootleg releases.

Three tracks have never been heard before. One is a Class recording by Adolph Jacobs, of which noted LA vocal group writer Steve Propes says, “The Coasters’ Billy Guy and Carl Gardner were singing with Bobby Day on Jacobs’ session for Class Records”, which makes it a historically important track, as well as a great record. Of similar interest to doo wop fans is an unheard number from Lee Maye – the greatest of all the singing sportsmen – from his 1958 ‘Pounding’ Cash session, complete with vocal group. The Pharoahs’ beautiful ‘Here Comes The Rain’ has only a basic instrumental backing, but the superb singing makes it a very worthy release. Another Gary Paxton-produced track has only been heard under the incorrect group name of the Sesames on a bootleg EP; it is actually Bobby Sheen with a group covering the Interludes’ 1962 King release.

Super-rarities include the Showcases’ magnificent 1964 Galaxy release ‘(This Love) Was Real’, the Heartbreakers’ Markay single ‘Since You’ve Been Gone’, the Cezannes’ ‘Pardon Me’, the Tabs’ ‘Never Forget’ on Noble and Carlton Beck’s (of the Shields) ‘The Girl I Left Behind’ Troy offering.

Most are classic 50s ballads but there are some R&B-oriented numbers such as Kent Harris’ group the Valaquans’ ‘Jolly Green Giant’ Rayco 45, the Creators’ quirky ‘Drafted, Volunteered, Enlisted’, released on Dootone in 1961, and the scarce and imaginative Emberglows Doré single ‘Sack And Chemise Gang Fight’ – all have Coasters influences with their novelty and humour. Several of the acts would go on to record through the soul era – Dorothy Berry, Morris Chestnut (here as James Washington Lee); the Individuals’ James Leon Moore went on to be a Youngheart and, of course, Danny Stewart would lead the groundbreaking Sly & The Family Stone.

There are sleeve notes from Steve Propes and Alec Palao to further map this city’s important musical history.

Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview The Letter - Adolph Jacobs

  • 02 Preview This Love Was Real - The Showcases

  • 03 Preview Since You've Been Gone - The Heartbreakers

  • 04 Preview Pardon Me - The Cezannes featuring Cerressa

  • 05 Preview Wonderful One - The Shondells

  • 06 Preview Please Don't Cry - The Wonders

  • 07 Preview Psychology - The Dandevilles

  • 08 Preview Jolly Green Giant - The Valaquans

  • 09 Preview Last Night - Arthur Lee Maye & The Crowns

  • 10 Preview A Long Time Alone - Danny (Sly) Stewart

  • 11 Preview The Girl I Left Behind - Carlton Beck

  • 12 Preview This Wilted Rosebud - Bobby Sheen

  • 13 Preview There's A Fool Born Every Day - The Five Superiors

  • 14 Preview Eternal Love - The Cordials

  • 15 Preview Hold Me - Dorothy Berry & The Swans

  • 16 Preview When They Ask About You - The Jades

  • 17 Preview Sack And Chemise Gang Fight - The Emberglows

  • 18 Preview Drafted, Volunteered, Enlisted - The Creators

  • 19 Preview Never Forget - The Tabs

  • 20 Preview Here Comes The Rain - The Pharoahs

  • 21 Preview Eight Reasons Why I Love You - The Precisions

  • 22 Preview I Need Somebody - James Washington Lee

  • 23 Preview Without Success - The Individuals

  • 24 Preview Moonrise - Rene Harris & The Terrans

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought