Romark Records - Kent Harris' Soul Sides Various Artists (Label Stories)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Romark Records - Kent Harris' Soul Sides (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

Kent Harris’ remarkable and long-lived career has never been fully documented. This CD spotlights his main soul label, Romark, and features most of the 20 or so 45s that were issued; none of which are common and all of which have musical value. The extensive booklet explores an area of Los Angeles’ black music that has never before been fully charted.

Kent continued his productions into the 80s, several appearing on the Sheridan-House imprint; we have included a fine Deborah Foster ballad from that period and an alternate version of ‘I Can’t Hold Back This Feeling’, on which she duets with Marshall McQueen, who also sings the great self-written dancer ‘Any Fool Can Feel It’ and the original demo of C.B. Overton’s ‘If I Can’t Stop You’.

The Kent Harris tape archive also revealed previously unissued recordings, including O’Malley Jones’ ‘Pay And Be On My Way’, a stomping instrumental called ‘South Central Slide’ and Larry Atkins’ version of Towana’s ‘Help Me Get This Feeling Back Again’. Larry’s Northern Soul rarities ‘Have Mercy On Me’ and ‘Ain’t That Love Enough’ are here, as is ‘Dream Girl’ by magnificent soul vocal group the Lon-Genes, a super-rare mid-tempo beauty that is yet to have its day on discerning Northern dancefloors.

Early soul/R&B comes from Donoman, Eddie Bridges and the Ike & Tina-inspired Phillips Sisters, whileKent’s sister Marcene “Dimples” Harris has a side of each of her three Romark releases featured. Blues fans will be happy with the Ray Agee, Cry Baby Curtis and Jimmy “Preacher” Ellis offerings, while the Francettes, Faye Ross and Kent’s talented wife Ty Karim will please female soul fanciers. The breadth of Kent’s productions is impressive, with modern soul dancers also featured, and even a shade or two of funk (check out Marcene Harris’ ‘Work It Out’) sneaking into the mix.


By Ady Croasdell 


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview All At Once - Ty Karim

  • 02 Preview Work It Out - Marcene Harris

  • 03 Preview Beautiful Day My Brother (Keep Moving On) - Obie Jessie Seeds Of Freedom

  • 04 Preview It's Hard To Explain - Ray Agee

  • 05 Preview I'll Come Back To You - The Mighty Hannibal

  • 06 Preview Too Much - Billy Williams

  • 07 Preview Have Mercy On Me - Larry Atkins

  • 08 Preview I'm The Only One - Donoman

  • 09 Preview Where Did You Stay Last Night - The Phillips Sisters

  • 10 Preview South Central Slide - Romark's Wrecking Crew

  • 11 Preview Ain't That Love Enough - Larry Atkins

  • 12 Preview Faith, Hope & Trust - Faye Ross

  • 13 Preview I'm Leaving You - The Francettes

  • 14 Preview Dream Girl - The Lon-Genes

  • 15 Preview Do I Need You - Dimples Harris

  • 16 Preview Bye Bye Baby (I'm Leaving You) - Deborah Foster

  • 17 Preview Any Fool Can Feel It - Marshall McQueen

  • 18 Preview Help Me Get This Feeling Back Again - Larry Atkins

  • 19 Preview Peekaboo - Eddie Bridges & His Lowriders

  • 20 Preview Tough Competition - Jimmy "Preacher" Ellis

  • 21 Preview There Will Be Some Changes Made - Cry Baby Curtis

  • 22 Preview Pay And Be On My Way - O'Malley Jones

  • 23 Preview If I Can't Stop You - Marshall McQueen

  • 24 Preview I Can't Hold Back This Feeling - Deborah Foster & Marshall McQueen

  • 25 Preview Talking Old Soldiers aka I Know How It Feels (To Grow Old) - Marcene "Dimples" Harris

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought