Cover Me - The Eddie Hinton Songbook Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


60s Soul
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1535

It’s been a while since the last ‘Ace Songwriter Series’ release but we still have plenty of future volumes in the pipeline. The series resumes this month with a package featuring two dozen musical delights from the pen of the late Eddie Hinton.
A cult hero among those who know and love their Muscle Shoals music, Eddie was a fixture of the Shoals recording scene in the mid-late 60s. As well as being a prolific and immediately recognisable session guitarist, and a great singer who sadly recorded far too infrequently, Eddie regularly wrote fine songs with a peer group that at various times included Donnie Fritts and Dan Penn.
“Cover Me” features a comprehensive selection of Eddie’s best-known copyrights, many of which are now regarded as classics of 60s southern soul. Not all of Eddie’s songs are as well-known as his biggest hit, the much-recorded ‘Breakfast In Bed’, but there are several others here that could and should have been just as commercially successful.
Artists would always be glad to record whatever Eddie submitted for their consideration. You only have to look at “Cover Me”’s cast list, which includes Bobby Womack, Aretha Franklin, Dusty Springfield, Mink Deville, Cher and Lulu to name but a few, to see the calibre of talent Eddie’s copyrights attracted.
This collection brings together songs from all periods of Eddie’s career. It’s sure to enhance the stellar reputation of one of Muscle Shoals’ favourite sons and it will be a welcome addition to anyone’s collection of ‘Ace Songwriter Series’ packages.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Breakfast In Bed - Dusty Springfield

  • 02 Preview Down In Texas - Oscar Toney Jr.

  • 03 Preview Cover Me - Jackie Moore

  • 04 Preview A Little Bit Salty - Bobby Womack

  • 05 Preview Sure As Sin - Candi Staton

  • 06 Preview 300 Pounds Of Hongry - Tony Joe White

  • 07 Preview Masquerade - Don Varner

  • 08 Preview Always David - The Sweet Inspirations

  • 09 Preview Poor Mary Has Drowned - Brick Wall

  • 10 Preview It's All Wrong But It's Alright - Eddie Hinton

  • 11 Preview Help Me Make It (Power Of A Woman's Love) - Mink Deville

  • 12 Preview Save The Children - Cher

  • 13 Preview Every Natural Thing - Aretha Franklin

  • 14 Preview If I Had Let You In - The Box Tops

  • 15 Preview Satisfaction Guaranteed - Judy White

  • 16 Preview Standing On The Mountain - Percy Sledge

  • 17 Preview I Got The Feeling - The Amazing Rhythm Aces

  • 18 Preview Home For The Summer - The Hourglass featuring Gregg & Duane Allman

  • 19 Preview Lay It On Me - Gwen McCrae

  • 20 Preview People In Love - Lou Johnson

  • 21 Preview Where You Come From - Bonnie Bramlett

  • 22 Preview Seventeen Year Old Girl - Mickey Buckins & The New Breed

  • 23 Preview Love Waits For No Man - Al Johnson

  • 24 Preview Where's Eddie - Lulu

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought