J & S Harlem Soul Various Artists (Zell Sanders)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

Sometimes you get enthused by the most unlikely of projects. Until Mick Patrick advised me that there were a couple of good usable R&B movers among the J & S tapes that we’d been sent, I didn’t know much about the label except for a Johnnie & Joe stomper and a couple of good Clarence Ashe deepies. Once I was told that Sprout was a subsid, I could add the rare Johnnie Richardson 45 to my starters and I knew that the Freeman Brothers 45 would grace any good soul CD.

There are some nice R&B movers, but there are also a hell of a lot of good soul sounds in there too. Some have been used on our Ace CDs of Johnnie & Joe, The Hearts and “Zell’s Girls” but they were tucked away down the track listings. Great numbers like Neice Dezel’s ‘It Doesn’t Matter’ and the Hearts’ ‘Don’t Let Me Down’ just had to be recycled for Kent connoisseurs.

The big finds though were the terminally obscure 45s on the label and on the Zell’s and Sprout subsidiaries. I don’t think many people knew there had been a second Gillettes 45 and, though the only known copy was somewhat battered, it was a great Impressions-inspired tune that was kindly lent to us to include here. I managed to intercept a couple of rare 45s on their flight from dealer to purchaser (with consent of course!) and copied all the data and music that we needed. Other obscurities were begged for and in the case of the great Little Willie (his words not mine) dance single, ‘I’ll Do It For You’, it was “discovered” and dropped into the compilation with merely hours to deadline.

The general J & S sound was tough and sparse, though brass was often used and, if the budget was there, some songs benefited from lush strings for dramatic effect. The music was often southern soul-influenced, as with Clarence Ashe (originally a resident of Muscle Shoals), Dicky & Billy and Jimmy Armstrong, and doesn’t go down the prevalent NYC route of big beat ballads at all. Some of the sparsely-recorded numbers like Henry Hodge and the Relations have their own appeal and charm, while others like Catha Morrison and the Freeman Brothers are complex, thoughtful and very effective productions. The Freemans’ ‘Life Of Love’, Jimmy & Arthur’s ‘Dancing In A Dream World’ and Johnnie & Joe’s ‘I Pray To Keep Our Love Strong’ are fabulous. Hugely catchy tracks that play in your head so much, that they soon feel like soul standards.

Other notable tracks are the Jaynetts 1967 uptempo update of ‘Be My Boyfriend’, Freda Allyne’s proto-funk ‘Money And All Your Love’ and Sity & James recent Northern “hit” ‘You Needn’t Tell Me’. Taffie Lee and Lee Pratt’s one-off shots at fame were good enough to have got them a recall to the studios but at least they are getting on to the decks again now.

I hope this CD gives as much fun and fulfilment to listen to as it was to compile and that reading the facts and conjecture that vie with each other in the booklet, is equally rewarding. Please feel free to send in any more top tips; we’re never too clever to learn or even be corrected. I have a feeling that this one ain’t over yet.

By Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview She Said I'll Be A Failure - Clarence Ashe

  • 02 Preview I Pray To Keep Our Love Strong - Johnnie & Joe

  • 03 Preview Life Of Love - Freeman Brothers

  • 04 Preview Say You Love Me - The Relations

  • 05 Preview The Dream I Had Came True - Dicky & Billy

  • 06 Preview I Want To Be Close To You - Jimmy Armstrong & the Pins

  • 07 Preview The Leaf Is Just Like Me - Catha Morrison

  • 08 Preview Money, And All Your Love - Freda Allyne

  • 09 Preview It Doesn't Matter - Neice DeZel

  • 10 Preview You Haven't Been Like You Should - The Gillettes

  • 11 Preview I Won't Ever Try To Change You - Henry Hodge

  • 12 Preview I'll Do It For You - Little Willie

  • 13 Preview You Needn't Tell Me - Sity & James

  • 14 Preview Don't Let Me Down - The Hearts

  • 15 Preview Be My Boy Friend - The Jaynetts

  • 16 Preview Let Your Mind Do The Walking - Johnnie & Joe

  • 17 Preview I Got A Feeling - Dicky & Billy

  • 18 Preview I'm A Working Man Who Needs A Good Woman - Clarence Ashe

  • 19 Preview 24 Hours Of The Day - The Gillettes

  • 20 Preview Stay Away From My Baby - Taffie Lee

  • 21 Preview Every Night The Same Time - Johnnie Richardson

  • 22 Preview Ha Baby, I'm Coming On Back - Lee Pratt

  • 23 Preview Dancing In A Dream World - Jimmy & Arthur

  • 24 Preview Let Sleeping Dogs Lie - Miss Johnnie

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought