Sweet Sound Of Success Various Artists (Scepter/ Wand)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

The Sweet Sound of Success is on Scepter proclaimed the ads in the Billboard magazine of the 1960s and indeed it was true. The New York-based Scepter label (and its affiliate Wand Records) recorded some of the finest R&B and soul sides and this CD collects together 28 of them. Magical soul names such as Chuck Jackson, Maxine Brown, Jackie Ross, Big Maybelle and Judy Clay. The young Tammi Terrell, under her maiden name of Tammy Montgomery, belting out 1961's It's Mine. Other names less widely known, but still revered on the soul scene - singers like Tommy Hunt (a real Northern Soul fave) and Roscoe Robinson. Among the songwriters, some real class - Holland, Dozier, Holland with Come See About Me, Kenny Gamble with Finders Keepers, Losers Weepers and Ashford, Simpson (later of the mega-successful Ashford & Simpson) & Armstead with Baby Take Me, Keep On Searchin' and One Step At A Time.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview You've Got The Power - The Esquires

  • 02 Preview If I Had You - Brooks O'Dell

  • 03 Preview There's Still A Tomorrow - The Diplomats

  • 04 Preview The Same Old Story - Big Maybelle

  • 05 Preview Don't Say Goodnight And Mean Goodbye - The Shirelles

  • 06 Preview Invisible - Lenny Miles

  • 07 Preview That's Enough - Roscoe Robinson

  • 08 Preview Baby Take Me - Chuck Jackson & Maxine Brown

  • 09 Preview Keep On Searchin' - Candy And The Kisses

  • 10 Preview Finders Keepers, Losers Weepers - Nella Dodds

  • 11 Preview If I Catch You - Timmy Shaw

  • 12 Preview Hand It Over - Chuck Jackson

  • 13 Preview He's No Good - Freddie Hughes

  • 14 Preview The Love Of My Man - Theola Kilgore

  • 15 Preview Look Over Your Shoulder - Chuck Jackson

  • 16 Preview One Step At A Time - Maxine Brown

  • 17 Preview The Door Is Open - Tommy Hunt

  • 18 Preview It's Mine - Tammy Montgomery

  • 19 Preview Lonely People Do Foolish Things - Judy Clay

  • 20 Preview How Much Pressure - Roscoe Robinson

  • 21 Preview Come See About Me - Nella Dodds

  • 22 Preview Half A Man - L C Cooke

  • 23 Preview This World's In A Hell Of A Shape - Jackie Ross

  • 24 Preview Do It Now - Bessie Banks

  • 25 Preview Ask Me - Maxine Brown

  • 26 Preview Can't Let You Out Of My Sight - Chuck Jackson & Maxine Brown

  • 27 Preview Gonna Send You Back To Georgia - Timmy Shaw

  • 28 Preview Don't Believe Him, Donna - Lenny Miles

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought