Wilson Pickett Sings Bobby Womack Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

Songs by Womack, vocals by Pickett. Complete and together at last.

Between 1966 and 1968 soul great Wilson Pickett recorded no less than 17 songs written by an up-and-coming singer/songwriter with whom he had much in common stylistically. Bobby Womack’s own time as a regular hit-maker was still a few years off; it was largely the popularity of Pickett’s versions of his songs which set him on his way to soul superstardom.

For years fans of Pickett and Womack have been hoping for a collection which brings together all of their collaborations – not least Cliff White, who conceived this project way back in 1984. At long last, here it is. (The reason for the lengthy gestation period is explained in the booklet.) As well as those Womack compositions, by way of a bonus the CD includes Pickett’s very apt version of Womack mentor Sam Cooke’s classic ‘Bring It On Home To Me’ and both sides of Womack’s own lone Atlantic single.

Recorded in Memphis and Muscle Shoals with the leading studio musicians of the day – including Womack on guitar and backing vocals on many of the tracks – “Wilson Pickett Sings Bobby Womack” is in many ways the great lost Pickett album, and one which compares very favourably with any of his official Atlantic releases of the period. Extensively annotated, handsomely illustrated and with a cover design that pays homage to those late 60s Atlantic albums, this is a compilation no Pickett fan can afford to be without.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I Found A True Love - Wilson Pickett

  • 02 Preview I'm Sorry About That - Wilson Pickett

  • 03 Preview I'm In Love - Wilson Pickett

  • 04 Preview Nothing You Can Do - Wilson Pickett

  • 05 Preview I Found The One - Wilson Pickett

  • 06 Preview Jealous Love - Wilson Pickett

  • 07 Preview She's So Good To Me - Wilson Pickett

  • 08 Preview I'm A Midnight Mover - Wilson Pickett

  • 09 Preview Something Within Me - Wilson Pickett

  • 10 Preview It's A Groove - Wilson Pickett

  • 11 Preview Let's Get An Understanding - Wilson Pickett

  • 12 Preview People Make The World (What It Is) - Wilson Pickett

  • 13 Preview We've Got To Have Love - Wilson Pickett

  • 14 Preview Trust Me - Wilson Pickett

  • 15 Preview Remember, I Been Good To You - Wilson Pickett

  • 16 Preview Sit Down And Talk This Over - Wilson Pickett

  • 17 Preview I've Come A Long Way - Wilson Pickett

  • 18 Preview Bring It On Home To Me - Wilson Pickett

  • 19 Preview Find Me Somebody - Bobby Womack

  • 20 Preview How Does It Feel - Bobby Womack

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector





Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought