Doré: L.A. Soul Sides Various Artists (Dore)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Doré L.A. Soul Sides (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

Lew Bedell’s Doré label only occasionally dabbled with black music in its early years. It was not until the British beat invasion of 1964 that soul acts were consciously sought out, so the company’s releases would not have to compete with those limeys for radio plays, on black stations at least.

The Superbs were Bedell’s main act throughout the soul era. He stuck with the group, despite them scoring only one hit from over 20 releases, some of which he composed. They later produced offshoots the Whispers, who would become a major soul act in the 70s, the Entertainers IV and Natural Resources. Group members Bobby Swayne, Kennard Gardner and Lawrence Lockard would all return to the label years after their first efforts and spoke highly of the eccentric but inspired Bedell.

The nascent soul scene is represented here by Slim & the Twilites and Tommy & Leon, whose releases have a New Orleans feel but were most likely recorded in Los Angeles. Bedell also cut deals with independent producers such as Lou Baretto, whose ‘Gone With The Wind Is My Love’ by Rita & the Tiaras sold poorly at the time but became a northern soul classic in the UK in the mid-70s. Bedell’s deal with New Orleans singer-songwriter Toussaint McCall produced a very worthy ballad 45 and the unreleased ‘I’ll Laugh Till I Cry’, which has been acclaimed as a masterpiece by the modern soul fraternity. That breed of soul fan will also be enamoured of Natural Resources’ unissued ‘If There Were No You’, an upbeat 70s soul dancer. Ultra-rare 45s by Milton James and Little Johnny Hamilton were cut by a tight outfit of musicians who would eventually become War. Other high quality rarities include Ray Marchand’s ‘Your Ship Of Fools’ and Betty Turner’s ‘The Winds Kept Laughing’, a co-production with the Crescent label. Better-known Los Angeles acts the Fidels, Shades Of Jade and Vel-Vetts were happy to get singles issued on a respected label in their quest for fame, while for Eddie Kool and Friday’s Child’s their Doré 45s were to be their sole releases.

Having purchased the Doré label, we have access to documentation that sheds light on some of these revered records. Interviews with several of the participants have further increased our knowledge, making the notes extensive and illuminating, while the music is presented in the best possible sound quality, with half the tracks being new to CD. Previously thought of as a Northern Soul or ballad outlet, this compilation shows there was more to Doré.

By Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview It Only Hurts For A Little While - The Whispers

  • 02 Preview Baby's Gone Away - The Superbs

  • 03 Preview I'll Laugh Till I Cry - Toussaint McCall

  • 04 Preview If There Were No You - The Natural Resources

  • 05 Preview Do It Right Now - The Entertainers IV

  • 06 Preview Your Ship Of Fools - Ray Marchand

  • 07 Preview My Lonely Feeling - Milton James & The Creators

  • 08 Preview Your Love Belongs To Me - Tommy & Leon

  • 09 Preview Family Man - Slim & The Twilites

  • 10 Preview The Winds Kept Laughing - Betty Turner & The Chevelles

  • 11 Preview Why Does It Feel So Right (Doing Wrong) - The Shades Of Jade

  • 12 Preview Take Away This Loneliness - The Fidels

  • 13 Preview You Really Never Know Till It's Over - The Vel-Vetts

  • 14 Preview Sunshine - Starbright!

  • 15 Preview I Would Rather Have All Of Nothing - Toussaint McCall

  • 16 Preview On A Day When It's Raining - The Superbs

  • 17 Preview Gone With The Wind Is My Love - Rita & The Tiaras

  • 18 Preview Do The Skin - Kenard Gardner

  • 19 Preview Oh How I Love You - Little Johnny Hamilton & The Creators

  • 20 Preview Doctor Love - The Whispers

  • 21 Preview Where There's A Will There's A Way - Eddie Kool

  • 22 Preview Temptation Walk (People Don't Look No More) - The Entertainers IV

  • 23 Preview Hold Back The Dawn - Frances Lark (& The Superbs)

  • 24 Preview As I Sit Here - Friday's Child

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought