Do-Wah-Diddy: Words And Music By Ellie Greenwich And Jeff Barry Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1203

“Turn the dial, push a button, click the mouse. Go to the movies or a restaurant, ride the subway or visit the mall. Throughout America (and a good bit of the rest of the world), chances are it won’t be long before you hear a song composed by a remarkable group of songwriters who huddled in cubicles within a couple of blocks of each other in midtown Manhattan in the late 1950s and early 60s.” – Ken Emerson, 2005

This quote is from the book Always Magic In The Air: The Bomp And Brilliance Of The Brill Building Era, which chronicles the careers of the songwriting teams Leiber and Stoller, Pomus and Shuman, Bacharach and David, Sedaka and Greenfield, Goffin and King, Mann and Weil and Greenwich and Barry. Without realising it, over the last few years we at Ace Records have released collections of the work of several of those partnerships, and more will follow. While it was never our intention to do so, in time it’s possible we might even complete the set. Meanwhile, it’s the turn of Ellie Greenwich and Jeff Barry, who reigned as the Brill Building’s most successful songwriting team from 1963 to 1965.

It was with Greenwich and Barry that Phil Spector co-wrote many of his most famous songs. Spector’s Philles catalogue is famously out of bounds to compilations such as ours. No worries; we’ve got the Beach Boys’ hit version of ‘I Can Hear Music’, Nilsson’s great take on ‘River Deep - Mountain High’ from his first album and a mega-rare version of the Crystals’ ‘Little Boy’ by obscure Jack Nitzsche protégée Karen Verros instead.

Other new-to-CD gems include ‘Hanky Panky’ by R&B girl group the Summits (the first version to be released as a single), ‘What Have You Been Doin’’ by the Majors (imagine a black Lou Christie), the Neil Diamond-esque ‘True True Love’ by Tony Pass (aka doo wopper Tony Passalacqua) and ‘Every Little Beat’ by the Fleetwoods.

After their initial golden run with Spector, Ellie and Jeff went on to even greater success at Red Bird, where they wrote and produced an incredible string of hits, represented here by cherry-picked classics by the Shangri-Las, the Dixie Cups, the Jelly Beans and the Butterflys … all in stereo, by the way.

Our Mann and Weil compilation will be released in the not too distant future. That will leave only Sedaka and Greenfield from Ken Emerson’s book without an Ace CD. (Thinks)



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I Can Hear Music - The Beach Boys

  • 02 Preview I'll Take You Where The Music's Playing - The Drifters

  • 03 Preview Out In The Streets - The Shangri-Las

  • 04 Preview Maybe I Know - Lesley Gore

  • 05 Preview He Ain't No Angel - The Ad-Libs

  • 06 Preview I Have A Boyfriend - The Chiffons

  • 07 Preview Baby Be Mine - The Jelly Beans

  • 08 Preview Do-Wah-Diddy - The Exciters

  • 09 Preview Everybody Come Clap Your Hands - Moody & the Deltas

  • 10 Preview Nobody But You - The Tokens

  • 11 Preview Here She Comes - The Darlettes

  • 12 Preview Hold On Baby - Sam Hawkins

  • 13 Preview You Should Have Seen The Way He Looked At Me - The Dixie Cups

  • 14 Preview Good Night Baby - The Butterflys

  • 15 Preview I Hear You Say (I Love You) - Andy Kim

  • 16 Preview Little Boy - Karen Verros

  • 17 Preview I Want You For My Sweetheart - Bobby Sheen

  • 18 Preview That Boy Is Messing Up My Mind - The Orchids

  • 19 Preview Hanky Panky - The Summits

  • 20 Preview What Have You Been Doin' - The Majors

  • 21 Preview Every Little Beat - The Fleetwoods

  • 22 Preview I Won't Be Me Anymore - Vic Donna

  • 23 Preview True True Love - Tony Pass

  • 24 Preview River Deep - Mountain High - Nilsson

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Cracking compilation. ★★★★



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought