Gotta Get Up! The Songs Of Harry Nilsson 1965-1972 Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1503

Interpretations of two dozen songs written by a man much admired by Jimmy Webb, Randy Newman and the Beatles.

It’s been said before, but it bears repeating: Harry Nilsson is quite a paradox. He was a Brooklynite who suffered an unstable upbringing (later immortalised in his song ‘1941’), yet whose early albums exude charm and winsomeness. He was a naturally gifted performer but rarely sang in front of an audience, and never toured. And – most famously – he was a singer-songwriter whose two biggest hits (‘Everybody’s Talkin’’ and ‘Without You’) were both covers. This new Ace compilation of Nilsson compositions recorded by others should help redress the songwriter-singer balance a little, but even if it doesn’t, it’s an essential gathering of baroque (and more) pop nuggets, collecting hits, misses and obscurities from his songbook.

Nilsson’s early years were plagued by false starts, marked by a run of 45s on Tower and a series of indie labels. While waiting for his recording career to gain traction, he had been shopping his songs around to other artists, placing titles with the Shangri-Las, Pat & André, Debbie Burton and others, and writing an all-time classic for the MFQ with the Phil Spector-produced ‘This Could Be The Night’, one of the greatest singles never released (eventually appearing on a 1976 Spector compilation). All these gems are included here.

Meanwhile, producer Rick Jarrard had been alerted to Nilsson’s own recordings and helped forge a deal with RCA, resulting in the LP “Pandemonium Shadow Show”. This and its follow-up, “Aerial Ballet”, were plundered for material for artists as diverse as the Yardbirds and José Feliciano, although perhaps most fruitfully by the Monkees – both ‘Daddy’s Song’ and ‘Cuddly Toy’ are present here. In total, 10 of the titles on this collection are taken from these two wonderful albums. Arguably as important to Nilsson’s career was a burgeoning friendship with the Beatles, the result of Derek Taylor hearing ‘1941’ on the radio and immediately despatching copies of “Pandemonium Shadow Show” to Lennon and co, who instantly sensed a kindred spirit and a super-talented singer. 

It’s debatable if Nilsson’s career lived up to this early promise, but his subsequent long-players include many glorious moments, and his “Nilsson Sings Newman” is one of the most quietly affecting albums in all of pop music. New readings of his own compositions kept coming too – via Harpers Bizarre, Andy Williams, Al Kooper and the 5th Dimension, all included here. The mid-to-late 1970s were tough times for Nilsson, following a decline in commercial success and a troubled private life. Better, then, to remember him with this definitive package from his glory years, expertly compiled and annotated by Mick Patrick, David Young and Ian Johnston.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Gotta Get Up - Annie Nilsson

  • 02 Preview Daddy's Song - The Monkees

  • 03 Preview Mournin' Glory Story - Al Kooper

  • 04 Preview This Could Be The Night - The MFQ

  • 05 Preview 1941 - Tom Northcott

  • 06 Preview Cuddly Toy - The Monkees

  • 07 Preview Bath - Doris

  • 08 Preview Butters Lament (Miss Butters' Lament) - The Family Tree

  • 09 Preview Good Times - Alan Lake

  • 10 Preview The Story Of Rock And Roll - Collage

  • 11 Preview Ten Little Indians - The Yardbirds

  • 12 Preview Hey Little Girl (Do Ya Wanna Get Married) - Jimmie Cross

  • 13 Preview Best Friend (Girlfriend) - Puppet

  • 14 Preview Poly High - Harpers Bizarre

  • 15 Preview Open Your Window - The 5th Dimension

  • 16 Preview Sleep Late, My Lady Friend - José Feliciano

  • 17 Preview I Said Goodbye To Me - The Glass Menagerie

  • 18 Preview Paradise - The Shangri-Las

  • 19 Preview Let Me Go - Pat & André

  • 20 Preview The Next Day - Debbie Burton

  • 21 Preview Together - Sandie Shaw

  • 22 Preview Without Her - Blood, Sweat & Tears

  • 23 Preview One - George Tipton

  • 24 Preview Remember (Remember (Christmas)) - Andy Williams

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought