Deep Shadows - The Best Of Kent Ballads Various Artists (Kent)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

We’ve not had an out-and-out ballad CD on Kent for over a year and after 28 years of compiling, we thought that a retrospective look at the very best tracks was due.

Many deep, southern or ballad collectors may not have gone for CDs such as “Mirwood Soul Story” or “Dave Hamilton’s Detroit Dancers”. As there were gems of these styles within those and other packages, we knew they would be enjoyed in another CD setting. Similarly, other pieces of beautiful music from the Charmels, L.V. Johnson and Johnny Gilliam were on similar but deleted CDs. Picking a “Best Of” CD felt valid and to strengthen it even more, we are including a handful of recordings that have not been issued on CD before, in some cases never issued at all.

These newbies deserve the most attention as they will be fresh to most soul fans. Of the issued tracks, the least rare is the Quotations’ ‘It Can Happen To You’ on DiVenus, which was a good seller in NYC on issue, though the current price tag of £150 (due to its Northern flip) would put the casual buyer off. Rarer is the Austin Taylor offering from Zell Sanders’ J&S subsidiary Sprout Artist. That set-up was never known for production subtleties and the single opens as if in an echoing Harlem Church, with the chorus belting out Hymn #94 before Austin’s tough vocal preaches his message.

The master tape contenders are of incredible quality. Bay Area songstress Jeanette Jones was probably only demoing ‘What Have You Got To Gain By Losing Me’ but sang it from the heart, which now means that an excellent Gerry Goffin co-composition was saved for the world, with its first airing here. Down in Nashville, Tennessee ace arranger and producer Bob Holmes cut a Gallatin act called the Paramount Four on a stunning group ballad ‘You Must Leave Her Because You Love Her’. If you invest in this CD, I can guarantee that you will be singing along to this beauty with gusto.

From the previously released but now deleted pile we re-present the Charmels’ brilliant ‘I’ve Done It Again’. Featuring on the same deleted Kent CD was L.V. Johnson’s ‘Seeing Is Believing’, which I now realise is right up there with it. Giving the track another lease of life also gives me the chance to correct the assumption that it is the same song the Mad Lads cut (also for the Volt label); it isn’t and we don’t know who penned it. I hadn’t even noticed that it was over four and a half minutes long – it doesn’t drag for a single second.

Personal favourites include the tracks by Phillip Mitchell, Loleatta Holloway, Sam Dees, the Modettes, Debbie Taylor and the bittersweet and haunting voice of Little Ann singing her self-written title track to the CD. If you don’t recognise any of the titles, please rest assured that these are the best of Kent – that’s going to be very good indeed.

By Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Cry To Me - Loleatta Holloway

  • 02 Preview I've Done It Again - The Charmels

  • 03 Preview What Have You Got To Gain By Losing Me - Jeanette Jones

  • 04 Preview Gotta Find A Way - The Hesitations

  • 05 Preview There's Another In My Life - Phillip Mitchell

  • 06 Preview You Must Leave Her Because You Love Her - The Paramount Four

  • 07 Preview Showdown - The Shaladons

  • 08 Preview Seeing Is Believing - L.V. Johnson

  • 09 Preview You Didn't Love Me Anyhow - Act I

  • 10 Preview Whether It's Right Or Wrong - Jackie Lee & Delores Hall

  • 11 Preview You Got Me - Jaibi

  • 12 Preview I Won't Be Such A Fool Anymore - The Modettes

  • 13 Preview No More Like Me - Ray Pollard

  • 14 Preview It Can Happen To You - The Quotations

  • 15 Preview Can't You See I'm Busy - Austin Taylor

  • 16 Preview No One Can Take The Place Of You - The Ravins

  • 17 Preview I Love My Baby - Tommy & Eddie

  • 18 Preview Tag Tag - Sam Dees

  • 19 Preview Sweet Loving Woman - Garland Green

  • 20 Preview You Make Me Feel Like Someone - Johnny Gilliam

  • 21 Preview You Must Be Losing Your Mind - Jimmie Raye

  • 22 Preview I'm A Lonely Man - Bobby Burn

  • 23 Preview How Long Can This Last - Debbie Taylor

  • 24 Preview Deep Shadows - Little Ann

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought