Cover Me - The Eddie Hinton Songbook Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


60s Soul
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1535

Versions of two dozen of the finest compositions from one of Muscle Shoals’ most admired singer/songwriter/musicians of the 60s and 70s.

Atlantic Records’ Jerry Wexler said he was going to be “the next big thing” more than 40 years ago. Sadly, life dealt Eddie Hinton several poor hands in his 51 years on Earth, from a minor early 70s drugs bust that led to a premature departure from his home in Muscle Shoals to the release of a fantastic debut album in 1977 that got buried when his record label went bankrupt weeks afterwards, to a fatal heart attack in the 90s, just when he was finally beginning to achieve a long-deserved level of international recognition. No wonder he once wrote and recorded a song called ‘Hard Luck Guy’. If anyone ever earned such a soubriquet, it was Eddie Hinton.

This month Ace pays tribute to Eddie’s compositional skills by making him the latest exceptional talent to feature in our highly regarded Songwriter series. The songs here span approximately the first 10 years of his career. Between 1967 and 1977 he was writing with Muscle Shoals notables such as Marlin Greene, Donnie Fritts and Dan Penn, as well as playing guitar on almost every session held at Quinvy and Muscle Shoals Sound studios between 1967 and 1972. Eddie and his collaborators wrote great songs together, and many of the best can be heard here. In many cases he also cut the original versions of his songs, and if you are at all familiar with any of the three volumes of his demos that our friends at Zane Records released in the early 2000s you will be able to hear how closely many of the artists here followed the template of his incredibly soulful voice.

Eddie’s most famous song is probably ‘Breakfast In Bed’ but it is by no means the only great one in his catalogue. Apart from Dusty Springfield, his compositions have been recorded by Cher, Lulu, Alex Chilton, the Drive By Truckers, Percy Sledge and Aretha Franklin, to name just a few discerning souls who recognised their abundant qualities. If that isn’t an indication of how great a songwriter he was, then nothing is.

Many of the tracks included in “Cover Me” are making their first appearance on UK CD. Some have never been reissued in any format. All offer a permanent testament to the talent of a man who was loved by his peers and is now recognised as a pivotal figure in the evolution of Muscle Shoals music.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Breakfast In Bed - Dusty Springfield

  • 02 Preview Down In Texas - Oscar Toney Jr.

  • 03 Preview Cover Me - Jackie Moore

  • 04 Preview A Little Bit Salty - Bobby Womack

  • 05 Preview Sure As Sin - Candi Staton

  • 06 Preview 300 Pounds Of Hongry - Tony Joe White

  • 07 Preview Masquerade - Don Varner

  • 08 Preview Always David - The Sweet Inspirations

  • 09 Preview Poor Mary Has Drowned - Brick Wall

  • 10 Preview It's All Wrong But It's Alright - Eddie Hinton

  • 11 Preview Help Me Make It (Power Of A Woman's Love) - Mink Deville

  • 12 Preview Save The Children - Cher

  • 13 Preview Every Natural Thing - Aretha Franklin

  • 14 Preview If I Had Let You In - The Box Tops

  • 15 Preview Satisfaction Guaranteed - Judy White

  • 16 Preview Standing On The Mountain - Percy Sledge

  • 17 Preview I Got The Feeling - The Amazing Rhythm Aces

  • 18 Preview Home For The Summer - The Hour Glass featuring Gregg & Duane Allman

  • 19 Preview Lay It On Me - Gwen McCrae

  • 20 Preview People In Love - Lou Johnson

  • 21 Preview Where You Come From - Bonnie Bramlett

  • 22 Preview Seventeen Year Old Girl - Mickey Buckins & The New Breed

  • 23 Preview Love Waits For No Man - Al Johnson

  • 24 Preview Where's Eddie - Lulu

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought