Here Today! The Songs Of Brian Wilson Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Here Today! The Songs Of Brian Wilson, CD (£12.56)

Interpretations of six “Pet Sounds” compositions are among the highlights of this celebration of Brian Wilson’s songwriting genius. Pressed on 180g white vinyl with fully illustrated inner bag.

“Here Today! The Songs Of Brian Wilson” was Ace Records’ top-selling release of 2015. To celebrate, we’re releasing this gorgeously packaged vinyl edition featuring a dozen of the best tracks from the CD.

The record industry mindset of the early 60s was to maximise output from any successful group, and Brian Wilson often worked with co-writers in order to meet the demand for Beach Boys product. His earliest writing partners were Gary Usher and Mike Love, both of whom provided a streetwise confidence that to some extent eluded him. The songs he wrote with Usher, Love and others such as Roger Christian and Jan Berry extolled the hedonistic joys of Californian teenage life with such verve that it was taken up all over the world. He wrote mainly for the Beach Boys but also for others and for the teen film industry, providing summer lifestyle numbers for a seemingly insatiable market, but once he stopped performing live with the Beach Boys in late 1964, his songwriting moved into deeper, richer, more adult themes.

The album opens with Darian Sahanaja of the Wondermints’ recording of ‘Do You Have Any Regrets?’, a rare composition from Wilson’s unissued “Sweet Insanity” album of the early 90s. While Wilson’s version was a rather frantic latin-styled piece, Sahanaja’s is a homage to the 1965-era Beach Boys. “I thought the song itself – melody, chords and lyrics – was classic mid-60s Brian,” says Sahanaja. “I imagined what it might have sounded like if it were on “Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!)”. So that’s what I went for, really just a fun exercise. My friends Bob Hanes and Lee Dempsey had pressed up a parody 45 called ‘Landy You Need Me’, and when they heard my track they immediately wanted to issue it as a follow-up.” Sahanaja went on to become one of the chief architects in the rejuvenation ofWilson’s career, taking particular responsibility for assisting him in reconstructing the “Smile” recordings.

Other highlights include recordings of songs from “Pet Sounds” by Kirsty MacColl, Carmen McRae, Nick DeCaro, Betty Everett, Bobby Vee and Louis Philippe, which prove Wilson’s compositions easily lend themselves to interpretation by artists from all genres of music. Those who own a copy of MacColl’s harmony-drenched ‘You Still Believe In Me’ single might have noticed “God Bless Brian” etched into the run-off groove – a sentiment echoed by all lovers of great music.

Kingsley Abbott, Mick Patrick & Harvey Williams


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Do You Have Any Regrets? - Darian Sahanaja

  • 02 Preview I Do - The Castells

  • 03 Preview Here Today - Bobby Vee

  • 04 Preview Guess I'm Dumb - Johnny Wells

  • 05 Preview Don't Worry Baby - The Tokens

  • 06 Preview Aren't You Glad - Peggy March

Side 2

  • 01 Preview God Only Knows - Betty Everett

  • 02 Preview Don't Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder) - Carmen McRae

  • 03 Preview Good Vibrations - Hugo Montenegro

  • 04 Preview Caroline, No - Nick DeCaro

  • 05 Preview I Just Wasn't Made For These Times - Louis Philippe with Dean Brodrick

  • 06 Preview You Still Believe In Me - Kirsty MacColl

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought