A Solitary Man: The Early Songs Of Neil Diamond Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1235

If you’re a Neil Diamond fan, the latest entry in our songwriter series is a no-brainer must-have. For starters, it collects 11 of the songs Neil wrote during the 1963-1969 timeframe that is its purview, but has never himself recorded. Among the numbers he gave away are the Monkees’ ‘Look Out (Here Comes Tomorrow)’ (heard here in the unique mix used on the original television broadcast) and Jay & the Americans’ ‘Sunday And Me’.

Deep Purple’s remake of Diamond’s ‘Kentucky Woman’ was a hit just a year after his own version. Heavy, man! Further covers from his impressive run of over 50 chart singles are represented, most in styles vastly different from his versions, the infinite adaptability a testament to the quality of the material. Tony Tribe was the first, in 1968, to cut a reggae rendition of ‘Red Red Wine’, UB40’s self-acknowledged template for their wildly successful release of the song a quarter-century later. Jackie Edwards’ performance of ‘Girl, You’ll Be A Woman Soon’ is so tender that the original sounds almost gruff by comparison.

No matter how you feel about Neil Diamond, if you’re a femme-pop fan, you’re going to need this disc for the tracks by Lulu, Marcie Blane, Jan Tanzy, Sadina and Billie Davis. If you favour the fellas, Cliff Richard’s ‘Just Another Guy’ sounds like a cross between the Everly Brothers and Bobby Vee filtered through Dion, while Jimmy Clanton appropriates the slogan of American greeting-card company Hallmark, “When you care enough to send the very best”, to suit his romantic needs. Ronnie Dove delivers an uncharacteristically energetic performance on the horn-and-handclap-propelled ‘My Babe’ and Billy Fury makes the Pitney-esque ‘Where Do You Run’ his own.

How do you like your soul music? Bobby Womack takes an expressive approach to ‘Sweet Caroline (Good Times Never Felt So Good)’ that makes palpable the joy conveyed in the lyrics. Approaches as diverse as the Memphis sound (B.J. Thomas, the Box Tops and Arthur Alexander), Chuck Jackson-style big city soul (the Solitaires), and Motown (Four Tops, Jr Walker & the All-Stars) are all successful and satisfying. Adding still more diversity to the mix are the Rocky Fellers’ ‘We Got Love’, with their trademark marimba-driven Pacific Islander sound, and the surprisingly effective garage-rock stylings of the Music Machine and the Wanderer’s Rest, cementing the status of these songs’ universal appeal and versatility.

If you didn’t think you were a Neil Diamond fan, it’s time to reassess your position, at least in terms of his formidable, diverse and affecting abilities as a songwriter.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Look Out (Here Comes Tomorrow) (TV Mix) - The Monkees

  • 02 Preview The Boat That I Row - Lulu

  • 03 Preview Red Red Wine - Tony Tribe

  • 04 Preview Kentucky Woman - Deep Purple

  • 05 Preview Just Another Guy - Cliff Richard

  • 06 Preview Sunday And Me - Jay & The Americans

  • 07 Preview It Comes And Goes - Sadina

  • 08 Preview That New Boy In Town - Jan Tanzy

  • 09 Preview My Babe - Ronnie Dove

  • 10 Preview I Care Enough (To Give The Very Best) - Jimmy Clanton

  • 11 Preview We Got Love - The Rocky Fellers

  • 12 Preview Bobby Did - Marcie Blane

  • 13 Preview Where Do You Run - Billy Fury

  • 14 Preview Fool That I Am - The Solitaires

  • 15 Preview Glory Road - Arthur Alexander

  • 16 Preview Love To Love - Billie Davis

  • 17 Preview You'll Forget - The Wanderer's Rest

  • 18 Preview Ain't No Way - The Box Tops

  • 19 Preview Solitary Man - B.J. Thomas

  • 20 Preview I'm A Believer - Four Tops

  • 21 Preview Girl, You'll Be A Woman Soon - Jackie Edwards

  • 22 Preview Cherry Cherry - The Music Machine

  • 23 Preview Holly Holy - Jr Walker & The All Stars

  • 24 Preview Sweet Caroline (Good Times Never Seemed So Good) - Bobby Womack & Peace

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought