For Connoisseurs Only: Kent/Modern Collectables Various Artists (Kent/ Modern)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
For Connoisseurs Only (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

Horace gets artistic pretensions!

The word connoisseur conjures up images of delicate porcelain, fine wines and old blokes and birds in tweed jackets, not visions usually associated with a Kent CD. However, my reason for employing said mouthful was to make it clear to Joe Blow that this CD does not contain GUARANTEED 100% DANCEFLOOR SMASHES" or "STONE KILLER BALLADS THAT WILL MAKE YOU WET YOUR PANTS", but instead features the sort of track that requires more than one turntable play and a little prior knowledge of our music before it is fully appreciated. "

There's also a healthy cross section of 60s and 70s soul here that was so representative of Kent/Modern in their position as LA's leading independent label. They pandered to the musical tastes of the many new immigrants from the South, while also aspiring to the big time status of record companies in the northern cities. A fine example of both influences in the one record would be the opening Sims Twins' track. It has the down home feel of their very natural vocals, over a full, perfectly orchestrated backing that was the professional equivalent of anything New York or Chicago could produce.

More standard uptown fare is on offer from Philly's Universals and Billy Harner, along with LA representatives the Styles, the Saints and the beLoved Mary, while singers such as Johnny Copeland, Johnny Gilliam and Clay Hammond are best recognised by Southern soul fans. Given the history of these great labels, it's not surprising that there are some R&B influenced tracks coming from Lowell Fulsom, Vernon and Jewel and Arthur K Adams. If you enjoy those, watch out for our forthcoming New Breed R&B CD series, of which the first chapter comes from Kent/Modern sources and will appear next month.
All those genres aside, the real bonus for me in making this CD so catholic in styles is being able to include odd records like Bobby White's San Franciscan outing of Just Another Week Behind. It's from 1970, which was a particularly experimental period in both soul and rock music and Bobby came up with a great song that defies pigeonholing.

Similar where the hell shall I put this one" records come from Cliff Chambers and Vernon Garrett and most of the tracks have a little something that makes them unusual and inevitably interesting.

Throw in a couple of tasty unissued numbers from the Other Brothers, Jackie Day and Johnny Adams in his 70s incarnation Foxfir - some under-rated B-sides from Danny Monday and the Sweethearts - plus neglected LP tracks from the Ikettes, ZZ Hill and Ike and Tina Turner and you have a CD fit for a King (or at least a Connoisseur).

Harboro' Horace


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I've Got To Win Your Love (For Me) - The Simms Twins

  • 02 Preview One Day (You Gonna Come My Way) - Johnny Adams

  • 03 Preview Good Taste Of Love - Danny Monday

  • 04 Preview I Got Love - The Other Brothers

  • 05 Preview Make Me Yours - Z.Z. Hill

  • 06 Preview New Lease On Life - The Universals

  • 07 Preview Baby Take Me Back - Johnny Gilliam

  • 08 Preview Just For You - Cliff Chambers

  • 09 Preview Just Another Week Behind - Bobby White

  • 10 Preview Something Went Wrong - Vernon Garrett

  • 11 Preview A Star In The Ghetto - Foxfire feat Johnny Adams

  • 12 Preview Soul Power - Johnny Copeland and His Soul Agents

  • 13 Preview Make A Little Love - Lowell Fulson

  • 14 Preview A Rockin' Good Way - Vernon and Jewel

  • 15 Preview Honky Dory - Billy Harner

  • 16 Preview The Sun Don't Shine (Everyday) - The Saints

  • 17 Preview Baby You're Alive - The Styles

  • 18 Preview Let Me Know - Mary Love

  • 19 Preview I Need A Man - Ike & Tina Turner

  • 20 Preview It's Been So Long - The Ikettes

  • 21 Preview I'm Gonna Be Sweeter - Clay Hammond

  • 22 Preview The Hunch - Gene Taylor

  • 23 Preview Down In The City - The Marvellos

  • 24 Preview Come Back Baby - Tami Young

  • 25 Preview You've Got It - Johnny Williams

  • 26 Preview Gimme Some Of Your Lovin' - Arthur K Adams

  • 27 Preview I Dig It The Most - Jackie Day

  • 28 Preview Eddie My Love - The Sweethearts

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought