Bowie Heard Them Here First Various Artists (Heard Them Here First)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1387

The latest release in our “Heard Them Here First” series traces the career of David Bowie via an eclectic selection of the other writers’ songs he chose to record. The collection kicks off with Paul Revere & the Raiders’ ‘Louie - Go Home’, which he covered as leader of Davie Jones & the King Bees in 1964, and concludes with ‘I Took A Trip (On A Gemini Spaceship)’ by the Legendary Stardust Cowboy, a song included on his 2002 album “Heathen”, and covers all points between.

While promoting “Heathen”, Bowie revealed he had been introduced to the Stardust Cowboy’s work in 1970 when the two were with the same record company: “[Mercury] gave me a stack of singles by this guy and I thought they were unbelievably atrocious, but in that wonderful way that you couldn’t stop listening to them, they were so awful.” There are no prizes for guessing the inspiration for Ziggy’s surname.

Just days after his final gig as Ziggy in 1973, Bowie began recording “Pin Ups”, an album of his favourite 1960s songs. The album is represented here by the Kinks’ ‘Where Have All The Good Times Gone’, the Pretty Things’ ‘Rosalyn’, the Mojos’ ‘Everything’s Alright’, ‘Sorrow’ by the Merseys and ‘Friday On My Mind’ by the Easybeats. “These are songs which really meant a lot to me,” Bowie recalled. “They’re all bands I used to go and hear play down the Marquee between 1964 and 1967. Each one meant something to me. It’s my London of the time.”

As one might expect from the chameleonic Bowie, the featured tracks emanate from a diverse array of musical genres, eras and artists – from Lotte Lenya & the Three Admirals’ 1930 recording of Bertolt Brecht & Kurt Weill’s ‘Alabama Song’ to the Pixies’ spiky ‘Cactus’ from 1988’s “Surfer Rosa”. Other unlikely bedfellows: Johnny Mathis and Iggy Pop; Bobby Bland and the Velvet Underground; Jacques Brel and Chuck Berry; Martha & the Vandellas and Jonathan Richman & the Modern Lovers, make for a strikingly wide-ranging programme.

The booklet features an essay by Ian Johnston, who also wrote the notes for our recent “The New York Dolls Heard Them Here First” and “The Ramones Heard Them Here First” collections. 

By Mick Patrick


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Louie - Go Home - Paul Revere & The Raiders

  • 02 Preview I Pity The Fool - Bobby Bland

  • 03 Preview Fill Your Heart - Biff Rose

  • 04 Preview It Ain't Easy - Ron Davies

  • 05 Preview White Light/White Heat - The Velvet Underground

  • 06 Preview Everything's Alright - The Mojos

  • 07 Preview Friday On My Mind - The Easybeats

  • 08 Preview Rosalyn - The Pretty Things

  • 09 Preview Sorrow - The Merseys

  • 10 Preview Where Have All The Good Times Gone - The Kinks

  • 11 Preview Around And Around - Chuck Berry

  • 12 Preview Knock On Wood - Eddie Floyd

  • 13 Preview Amsterdam - Jacques Brel

  • 14 Preview Wild Is The Wind - Johnny Mathis

  • 15 Preview Alabama Song - Lotte Lenya & The Three Admirals

  • 16 Preview Kingdom Come - Tom Verlaine

  • 17 Preview Criminal World - Metro

  • 18 Preview Don't Look Down - Iggy Pop

  • 19 Preview Dancing In The Street - Martha & The Vandellas

  • 20 Preview If There Is Something - Roxy Music

  • 21 Preview Nite Flights - The Walker Brothers

  • 22 Preview Cactus - Pixies

  • 23 Preview Pablo Picasso - The Modern Lovers

  • 24 Preview I Took A Trip On A Gemini Spaceship - The Legendary Stardust Cowboy

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector





Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought